This is How it Goes Down (Or I go down…)

TEAM TURKEY!!

It’s Black Friday. No, I am not going out into the madness. No way, man. People run me over in the store on a normal non-apocolyptic shopping day. My mom says I am invisible to other shoppers. She has witnessed this first hand. I avoid Black Friday like the plague.

How was your Thanksgiving? Mine was pretty good. I woke up at 4:30 and couldn’t get back to sleep. I had to get up at 5:30 anyways so I could meet my sister and brother-in-law for a Turkey Day 5K run to help the children of Arden Shore. I got Big A to go with as well. He enjoyed it. I have recently taken up jogging and would have loved to run it, but I hurt my knee within the last couple of weeks so I could not.

I was at my company’s strategic planning meeting in Orlando. We went to this restaurant called Vines Grille & Wine Bar. As we were a big party, we were led to the back of the restaurant. Any time I stepped on their hard wood floors, I slid around a little bit. The first time I went to the washroom, I nearly bit it. The second time, I totally wiped out. I was wearing a dress and heels. I am pretty sure I flashed the place. There were some gasps and an “Oh my god!” Maybe just from me falling, maybe from my display – the jury is still out on that one. Anyways, I was so embarrassed I hopped back up and scurried into the bathroom. But I landed on my hand and my knee. It hurt sooo bad.

Back to the Turkey 5K – it took us an hour and two minutes to finish. Not completely dead last, but second to last. Except for the police cars bringing up the rear to make sure no one croaked. The older guy above with the number on was officially last. He was limping (looked to have a bad knee, too) but he went the whole way. I give him props.
My nephew and niece came as well so we stayed together for the most part and crossed the finish line together, too.  We did it more for the fun of it than to race. We didn’t even get numbers or those chip ankle bracelets that Lyndsay Lohan wears all the time. So not stylish, by the way. When we came back there was pizza available to load up on carbs but I just couldn’t do it. Alex ate two pieces, however. During the race, he complained he was hungry. He even found a McDonald’s bag lying on the ground, picked it up and shook it to see if there was anything in it. Oh, my kids crack me up.
 

Later in the day we all gathered at my sisters for the feast. Yum, yum. Even Camden ate on Thanksgiving! He had his first little bowl of rice cereal. He really likes it. He’s going to be a big eater – we already gathered that from the amount of formula he eats and the weight he has gained since birth, but this confirms it. At dinner he and Samantha realized they were near each other’s size.  Although Sam is a year old…

We were going to play some games after dinner but everyone was so tired. Boo! I like the annual Thanksgiving games. Maybe at Christmas! Speaking of Christmas – let the festivities begin! I think we have some kind of party or get together every single weekend in December. I better get up some Christmas spirit. Maybe I should decorate the house this weekend and get it over with. My least favorite part! Anyone want to do it for me??

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.