The Secret Exploits of a SAHM – Chapter Eight – No Way Out

20 Sep

Please remember the following: Not everything in this book is true. It is not an autobiography. There is some freedom with the truth. It is a fictional book, loosely based on reality. I apologize in advance for swear words. This is not for children to read. It is an adult book. 

No Way Out

By D. M. Wright

“Kill him?” I ask weakly. He comes uncomfortably close to me. Or maybe it is comfortably? I breathe in his scent that was becoming oh, so familiar. I long for this scent now.

“That doesn’t sound so bad to me,” he whispers. His lips are inches away from mine. My heart is racing.

I hear a key in the lock on the door. My eyes widen and I gasp, “It’s him!” We break apart and begin to clean up the kitchen as if this was a normal occurrence.

He comes around the corner. “Who the fuck are you?”

“He lives downstairs. The baby was sick and -”

“Shut the fuck up. I wasn’t talking to you!” He snarls at me and then pushes me out-of-the-way.

He looks at my neighbor friend with a smirk. “You playing house with my wife, is that it? Think she’s something else? A hot piece of mommy ass? Get the fuck out of my house!” He yells suddenly.

The neighbor tightens his jaw and his fists at his sides. “If you lay one finger on her, I will hurt you AND call the cops.” He mutters, but leaves the kitchen. He glances at me with worry in his eyes.

I am sure my eyes are pleading for him to stay.

I hear the door click closed and I am filled with dread.

“What exactly is going on here?” My husband asks in a low growl.

“I told you, the baby was sick. He threw up all over his crib. I was cleaning him up and hauling out trash when I ran into the neighbor outside. He’s a friend. He was just helping me out. He watched the baby and made some breakfast for us. That’s it.”

“You two looked pretty cozy and warm all cleaning up the kitchen together. You have a thing for him?” He steps up closer to me. His voice is menacing.

“He’s a nice man. He’s helped us out of a couple of jams around the house.” My voice is shaking. I take a step back.

“I think he likes you. I saw the way he looked at you. And I think you like him.” A step closer with every sentence.

I didn’t know what to say. Where is he going with this?

“I bet I know what he wants to do to you.” His voice is guttural now. He unbuckles his belt.

Oh my god. I am immediately scared for what is next. This man who I used to love and cherish. What is he going to do to me?

“Stop,” I whisper. I push against his chest.

“You’re my wife.” He growls and pulls me against him. His lips slam down onto mine.

I taste blood. I push at him harder. “Stop, you’re hurting me!” I exclaim.

“You think that hurts?” He grabs me roughly and carries me into the bedroom.

——

I wake up in my bed. I hear the baby crying. I sit up and gasp in pain. It’s hard to breathe.  My head is spinning. I am dizzy. Then everything comes flooding back. I start sobbing. If I tell anyone, he said he will accuse me of cheating, and take my boys away from me. He will see to it that I will never see them again. He will hurt me, he will hurt my neighbor friend and he will hurt them. No one can hurt my babies.

The baby’s cries become more urgent. I am not sure how long I have been out. I take stock of my injuries. It hurts to walk but I can manage. Nothing is broken. There are a lot of bruises but nothing is broken. Except maybe a rib because it really hurts to breathe.

I get the baby out of the crib and hold him to me. I cry along with him. He is soaked. I change his diaper and clothes and just hold him for a long time.

Suddenly I am aware of a pounding at the door.

I wince as I move to answer it. It’s him. My nice neighbor man. Oh, how I long to throw open the door and myself into his arms. But, I can’t. We would be the walking dead if I do. He is watching.

I open the door a crack. “Hi,” I smile as best as I can.

“Are you ok?” He tries to push open the door. “Let me in.”

“No, it’s probably best if we don’t see each other anymore,” I whisper. “He was really angry.”

“I don’t care, I need to know if you’re ok!” He frowns.

“Oh, I’m fine! Don’t worry about me!” I smile and try to laugh, but it gets caught and I can’t fake away the pain.

“MOVE!” He exclaims.

I flinch at his tone and back away from the door. I snuggle into the baby’s neck and cry.

“I’m sorry,” He says and puts his arms around me. “I had to know. He hurt you, didn’t he?” He is angry. He starts looking and pulling at my arms, my face, my neck.

I pull away from him. “Stop,” I gasp. I can’t stop crying. Everything hurts.

He stops and lets go of me. “I am calling the police.” He grabs his phone.

“NO!” I shout. “You can’t. He will hurt us all, in every way.”

“That’s ridiculous! He can’t hurt you if he’s behind bars!” He snaps.

“He’s got pictures. Someone’s been following us everywhere. That is how he knew to come home right when you were here. He knew you were here. He was trying to catch us.”

“But nothing happened! We are just friends!” He exclaimed and ran a hand through his hair.

“It doesn’t matter! He has all the proof he needs that looks like I have been cheating on him. If I tell he is going to take away my kids. I will never see them again and they can’t be left to him! He’s a monster!” I am sobbing now.

“Shhh, ok, ok. Relax.” He tries to quiet me.

The baby is also crying again. He hates when any of us cry.

“There’s got to be something we can do.” He says quietly.

Leave a Reply

