Dream a Little Dream of Me

8 Feb

I thought I’d share with you my Random Pregnancy Dreams. Seriously…Random. Good reading for a Tuesday, I am sure. That’s what I look like now while sleeping. Except I am not yellow and I have more hair. And I don’t like the pink frosted doughnuts. But I digress…

So they (BabyCenter.com) says:

“Dreams are like funhouse mirrors that reflect your emotional state. And since pregnancy can feel like an emotional roller coaster, it’s not surprising if your dreams are more vivid and crazy than usual. A boost in the hormone progesterone during pregnancy could be a factor in creating those emotional ups and downs.

If you’re remembering more dreams than usual, you can chalk that up to pregnancy too. Most people remember only an occasional dream, even though we all dream every night. But pregnant women are typically up and down all night, prodded by bladder pressure, anxiety, and other pregnancy sleep disturbances.

The more often your sleep is interrupted, the more likely you are to wake up during with a dream fresh in your mind.”

I keep having dreams where I am trying to get up to another floor or level in a building. In one dream, I am in a college and the elevator is full of people, the escalators don’t work and so they have rigged this crazy staircase like an obstacle course. I wake up and never make it up to the next floor.

In another dream, I am in some crazy hospital/hotel. I have just had surgery and am trying to get up to my room. It is a winding staircase, barely big enough for one person and I meet this old lady and we can’t get by each other. I eventually end up pushing her aside and I make it up to the next floor. Then I am turned around and I don’t know which way to go. But I remember the staircase to my room is at the other end of this floor and I start walking. Suddenly I am carrying blankets as well. I never make it to that staircase.

Then another I am trying to catch a flight. I am running through gates to get to mine and my mom is at one of them to greet me. I am surprised and say hello, but I must run to catch this flight in 4 minutes. Suddenly she is supposed to be on the flight with me and we are trying to get to the gate. There is a weird blow-up staircase such as a slide coming off a plane in an emergency landing. We are having difficulty trying to get up this staircase. Then we make it to the gate and it turns out it is now a submarine, not an airplane and my mom has the wrong ticket. We never make it onto the submarine.

The last one I remember is scary to me. In it, Big A is suddenly next to my bed, touching my arm and saying, “That lady with the vaccum is in our room.” In the dream, there was a lady killing people with a vaccum in the neighborhood. I try to wake my husband next to me and he won’t wake up. Suddenly, I scream, “There is someone in the boy’s room!” He jumps out of bed and is trying to turn on the hall light. I see them in the hall from my position laying in my bed. (And this is how it is in my room in reality.) To my right, is the door to the bathroom which is open (but not usually and not in reality either – have I lost you?). The woman, in the meantime, has run from the boys room into the bathroom and is now standing on the toilet staring into my room at me in my bed. She has long, black stringy hair like you would imagine a witch would have and she has a black dress on. She has evil eyes as well. I struggle to scream out to my husband, “She’s in the bathroom!” And I wake myself up gasping, “Bathroom!” Then I have to pee, for realz, and I am scared to go into the bathroom. It takes a good five minutes for me to wake up and realize its just a dream.

There have been more dreams, but I can’t remember them at this point. These above are the ones that have stuck with me. Now, what do they mean?

Look what I found out about nightmares (still on BabyCenter.com):

“Taking charge, having confidence in herself, and being in command may help a woman to cope with the job of giving birth to a child. If you are being threatened in a nightmare, you may find that instead of letting yourself be victimized, assertively reacting to the situation will make a profound difference. Not only will you feel better about your nightmare, you may actually help make your labor shorter and easier. When short- and long-labor groups were asked about how assertive they were during nightmares, researchers found that there was a strong connection between the dream content and the length of labor. Among the women who had short labor, 94 percent had been assertive in at least one of their nightmares. Among the women who had long labor, only 30 percent had been assertive, whereas the remaining 70 percent allowed themselves to be victimized.”

So, I guess I am a victim in this one and I’m going to have long labor! Well, maybe if it wasn’t a planned C-Section!

What is up with the staircase thing? I found this one thing on Dreammoods.com:

“To dream that you are walking up a flight of stairs, indicate that you are achieving a higher level of understanding. You are making progress into your spiritual, emotional or material journey. The dream is also analogous to material and thoughts that are coming to the surface….To dream that you slip or trip on the stairs, signify your lack of self confidence or conviction in the pursuit of some endeavor. If you slip going up the stairs, then it means that you are moving too fast toward attaining your goals. If you slip going down the stairs, then it suggests that you are moving too quickly in delving into your unconscious. You may not be quite ready to confront your unconscious or repressed thoughts.

To see spiral or winding stairs, signify growth and/or rebirth.”

Nothing really about never making it up the staircases but if I guess I can apply the tripping theory to it? Let me know if you have some secret insight into dream interpretation. That would be interesting!

4 Responses to “Dream a Little Dream of Me”

  1. Bry February 8, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

    hmmm your dreams are intriguing i often try to solve my dreams too so i could think of some things this may mean….

  2. kweenmama February 8, 2011 at 9:58 pm #

    Interesting….I always dream about being back in highschool or college and suddenly remembering a class that I should have been attending all semester but have forgotten to up to that point and then worrying about the final test and what my grade is going to be. I wonder what THAT dream means.

  3. Captain Dumbass February 9, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    My wife had the craziest dreams when she was pregnant. Two of my favourites were when she was being chased by a stick figure alligator and when her mom was leading the Bay of Pigs invasion.

  4. dmwright February 10, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    Bry, any help you can give would be welcomed 🙂

    Kweenmama, maybe the big test of LIFE! But, I am sure you will pass!

    Captain, those dreams sound hilarious! Hope they weren’t nightmares, though!

Leave a Reply

