Hurry, Hurry, Hurry, Before I Go Loco!

4 Dec

We all have routines. Every morning – same old, same old. I think I might have posted what I go through every morning before heading to work awhile back, but this is the actual drive to preschool to drop off Little A and then on to my other full-time job.

I don’t know what everyone else does, but I decompress in the car on the way to and from work. Sometimes. I turn on the classic rock station and turn it up! And I also try to pay attention to those dumb red light cameras. Somebody just shoot me now!

“Sometimes I sleep, sometimes it’s not for days. And the people I meet always go their separate ways…sometimes you tell the day by the bottle that you drink, and times when you’re alone all you do is think…”

“Mommy?….MOMMY!” says Little A.

“Yes?” I am dragged out of my vision of myself playing a guitar solo on stage. (Too much Rock Band.)

“I can’t open my sandwich in my napkin.”

I glance back in the rearview mirror. “Take your mittens off maybe.”

“Ok.”

“I’m a cowboy, on a steel horse I ride. I’m wanted (wanted) dead or alive…”

“Mommy?”

“Yes?”

“I love jerry. It is so good.”

“Cherry? What are you eating? A Cherry starburst?”

“No, jerry!”

“What has cherry?”

“No, JERRY!!!!”

I had to think for a bit. “Oh, JELLY?”

“Yes.”

“Well, that’s great. Thanks for sharing.” I rolled my eyes.

“Oh, mama, I’m in fear for my life from the long arm of the law. Lawman has put an end to my running and I’m so far from my home…”

“Mommy?…Mommy!”

Big sigh. “Yes?”

“It itches on the left on the bottom of my belly.”

“Really? Don’t scratch it.”

“Mommy?”

“Yes?”

“Look – green!” He points at something out the window.

“Fabulous.”

“The jig is up they finally found me…”

“Mommy?!”

“Yes?!”

“Why are you going this way?”

“Because I am the driver and I feel like it, that’s why?!” Gaaahhh!

“Mommy?”

“Yes, Little A?” My teeth are clenched at this point.

“I’m done.”

“Great.”

“What should I do with my napkin?”

“Put it in the tray by your cup holder.” A crinkled up napkin sails into the front seat.

“Thanks.”

“Just get me to the airport, put me on a plane…hurry, hurry, hurry before I go insane…”

“Mommy?”

“Yes?’ *crying on the inside*

“I need a napkin.”

“Bamp bamp, ba bamp, ba bamp bamp, ba bamp, I want to be sedated!”

One Response to “Hurry, Hurry, Hurry, Before I Go Loco!”

  1. kweenmama December 4, 2009 at 5:37 pm #

    Lol! Oh, I remember those days all too well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

