Honey-Do – A Spin Cycle Re-Post!

11 Nov

spincyclesmall****This week’s Spin is a free spin! So I decided to post an oldie but goodie. And I wrote it one year ago today so it sat well with me to re-post it! Enjoy!!

I am sure that everyone gives their hubby a “Honey-Do” list once in awhile. It happens, right? They can’t remember from one room to the next what they were supposed to do in there. Or maybe it is just mine?

Any trip to the store must involve a list if there are more than three items to purchase. Eggs, milk, and bread is a snap. Add some fat-free sour cream, red potatoes, a half a pound of muenster and diet coke to that and it’s all over. You are lucky if they come home at all! They end up just circling the store aimlessly and you lose them in the alcohol section. Beeerrr… need sustenance..must have beeeerrr….

My Hubby has a Blackberry so I always get, “Email me what you want.” It helps when he is on his way home from work and I need something for dinner or we run out of diapers or worse…chocolate. Sometimes it is nice to hear his voice, however, but I have better luck getting him if I email. 😦

So when I need some chores done around the house, of course I have to make a list.

“Honey, while I am gone today, can you throw the towels in the dryer, run the dishwasher and vacuum? And make sure you take a picture of you vacuuming. I promised the bloggers a photo.”

He looks up from the TV with a blank stare. He has heard nothing I have said. I can tell by the vacant look in his eyes. Then awareness comes to him, but he realizes what a situation he will be in if he admits that he didn’t hear me. So he says, “Can you make me a list?” It is always a safe thing for him to say.

I am hip to your jive, mister.

So yesterday, I am working in the office and I hear Hubby tell Big A – while he was watching TV – “Hey, bud, tomorrow when you get home from school, can you sweep the leaves off the porch?” A few moments go by and then…

“Um, can you make me a yist?”

I can not control my laughter as I hear Hubby, taken aback, say, “Uh…yeah…”

Hubby comes back into the office perturbed and a little outraged, but also laughing a little. “Did you hear him?”

I just kept laughing.

“A yist?! He can’t even read!!” He couldn’t decide whether to laugh or to frown.

“He’s just like his Daddy!”

**For more Spin Cycle, go see Jen at Sprite’s Keeper! She’ll keep you spinning!!

7 Responses to “Honey-Do – A Spin Cycle Re-Post!”

  1. Sprite's Keeper November 12, 2009 at 9:07 am #

    I think I remember reading this! John must have a list or it gets forgotten. I forgot to charge my cell phone and asked him about 5 times to bring the charger to my job so I could re-charge it there. “No problem!”
    I spoke to him while he was on the road. “Did you remember to bring my phone charger?”
    His resulting silence was all I needed to confirm a big fat NO.
    Lists work. Unless he forgets the list. 🙂
    You’re linked!

  2. Vandy November 12, 2009 at 11:51 am #

    I have to admit, I need the list most of the time. I don’t set foot in the store without one or I inevitably forget the important things I need and only get the things that look good. Hard to explain why we have steak but no milk. My husband depends on me for the lists, but he has a better memory for the to do list than I do. Lists rule.

  3. lisleman November 12, 2009 at 10:29 pm #

    Ah another example of learning by example.

    “A picture of him vacuuming” Man you are really pushing it.

    I took some pictures of a vacuuming accident I had once. The table cloth (or “cover thing” on an end table) got intimate with the vacuum and then the potted joined the action. So much for cleaning up.

  4. ~The South Dakota Cowgirl~ November 12, 2009 at 11:45 pm #

    Your husband sounds like my dad. I laughed out loud and then had to share the fun with my boyfriend who heard me in the other room!

  5. Ellie Belen November 13, 2009 at 9:56 am #

    Are all men the same! I’ve learned to say “Honey” and wait a few seconds. That should take care of the processing time it takes to understand the you are talking to them.

  6. Jan November 13, 2009 at 3:06 pm #

    This was even funnier than the last time because it probably stays the same. The “yist” is perfect for little guys as well as big guys, maybe they can grow up to actually read the lists.

  7. Kate November 13, 2009 at 7:42 pm #

    This a perfectly funny story!

Leave a Reply

