What I did on my Summer Vacation

18 Aug

Well, despite the fact that I have been away from here for far over a month, I have not gone anywhere too exciting. Life and work have really gotten in the way of my blogging and reading my favorite blogs! But, we have gone away the last two weekends on two short kind of “stay-cations”. The first weekend we went to my friend’s lake house in Michigan. It was nice to go on their boat and just relax. It rained all day that Saturday so we all read books pretty much or played the PS2. We even went bowling to do something different. Here are the husbands with contrasting opinions. It was a complete coincidence that they wore these on the same night. 013

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here are some of the boys, too. This was Little A’s first time bowling!

002001

019

 

 

 

 

 

 

We had more boating on Sunday and a sunburn for the effort. But all in all it was a fun weekend.

 

 

Last weekend, we went to Lake Geneva, WI to a hotel with a water park. We have gone to this hotel for the past couple of years. The kids could not get out of the pool. They loved it. Our stay was from Thursday to Sunday. Of course, 10 minutes after we got there, Little A threw himself into the wall and cut his upper lip. Dork.

Then that afternoon at the pool was very exciting. I was laying on my chair, watching Little A in the baby pool. (This year he didn’t try to fill up the baby swing with water. I think he got it into his head that there were holes in the bottom, which was why the water wasn’t staying.)

Anyways, lying in the chair – people came and went. This Hispanic family came in to my left and claimed the chairs there. A little while later, an older man and his wife with their grand kids comes up and immediately accuses them of taking their chairs. Now, I remember the grandpa sitting there before, but he had left and had been gone for so long that I forgot he had been sitting there. Whether he had put stuff on the chair to save it, I don’t recall. But he started yelling and insulting this woman. And he said it was “Typical” that she was denying that anything was on the chairs and that she stole them. That she moved his shirt from the chair and put it on another chair. Well, she calls him a racist and says he’s lucky her husband wasn’t there. She tells her oldest son to go find him and they all get into this verbal fight. The man says he could beat her up and her son and she called him an old man. Eventually hotel security got involved and the older man gives up but she keeps on complaining to the hotel. She feels harassed and no longer safe because he was threatening her and being a racist. Finally, the family gets moved to their sister property and everyone is happy. Wow. I just watched it all happen. I would have jumped in if I knew whether or not his shirt was on the chair but I didn’t know. I was soaking in the sun and mostly watching my kid. Oh, well. A little entertainment.

Friday, we came up with the brilliant idea to put life jackets on the boys so we didn’t have to stay in the baby pool. Duh. So they loved playing in the bigger pool and felt safe with them on. They went down the slide a million times. At first, I was catching Little A, but then he caught me in the chest (right between the boobs – its still tender!) with his foot and almost knocked the wind out of me. So I stopped catching them and let hubby do it.

042043044

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

045046047

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love the pic where Big A hits the water – the little girl’s face is funny.

That is basically what we did all weekend. Pool all day and then went out to dinner. Sunday we checked out and then walked around the town of Lake Geneva which has shops and restaurants. We stopped at the chocolate shop and sampled some fudge and caramel corn. We stopped in a store called Allison Wonderland that had tons of toys that the boys wanted to purchase. And we also went on the ferry that toured the bay and told us about the famous homes on the lake front. The girl tour guide said that they were trying to figure out how much property cost. She said that she was 5’5″ or so and that enough land for her to lie down on would be the same as what she is paying to go to four years of college. Whoa. To tell you who owns most of the property – the Wrigley family.

We had a fun time but next year hubby wants to visit the badlands of South Dakota. Has anyone ever been there?

Hope you all are doing well! I will be in to check on your blogs soon!

3 Responses to “What I did on my Summer Vacation”

  1. Shay August 19, 2009 at 9:46 am #

    That’s ok – that’s kind of how I have been too! I haven’t been on that much just because of life & such.

    It looks like a super fun vacation! I am counting down the days until ours! 🙂

  2. Captain Dumbass August 19, 2009 at 8:00 pm #

    Gah! I’ve been meaning to get the boys to a pool all summer but haven’t yet. Deadbeat dad.

  3. kweenmama August 20, 2009 at 8:34 pm #

    We have a new water park here that I haven’t gotten the kids to yet. Your post makes me want to hurry and get there!

    Nice to have you back!

Leave a Reply

