You’re Dead Meat!

17 Jun

spincyclesmallSo, back in the saddle again! It has been so long! Hi, Sprite’s Keeper! I’ve missed you!!

This week’s Spin is about memories! Boy, do I have one that stands out…

~~~~~(Wayne’s World dream sequence sound effect)~~~~~~

I was in second grade. I think that made me 7. I lived in an apartment complex and we had to walk through the complex to get to the bus stop. It was the equivalent of about two blocks. My friend Tiffany and I decided to dress up for school one day. I remember wearing a dress and white socks that went up to my knees and black patent leather shoes with a little strap and buckle around the ankle. Very stylish, I know.

We get to the bus stop and wait as usual. When the bus finally came, we noticed that this 6th grade boy named John, that rode in the back seat ALL the time, was absent that day. So we were excited to ride in the very back seat! At the next stop, John’s friend that sits with him in the back, got on and headed our way. Oops. We forgot about him. He stomped to the back and glared at us.

“That’s where me and John sit.” He growled.

I got annoyed. The seats aren’t assigned. There are no names on them. We could sit wherever we wanted to! Right?! Hellz yeah! (I was such an independent and free thinker at the age of 7). So, I said, “It’s a free bus!” And we refused to move.

“John is not going to like this.” He growled again and moved to sit somewhere else.

What. The. Heck. John was not even on the bus. So you are telling me that NO ONE could sit in the back seat EVER? Puh-lease. I looked at Tiffany and we shook our little second grade pigtails. Whatever!

The day went along fine until lunch time. Tiffany and I were eating our PB&J sandwiches and fruit roll-ups happily until John walked by our table.

“You’re Dead Meat after school!” He growled and punched one fist into his other hand. I guess he wasn’t that absent after all.

I looked at Tiffany to see if she caught that. Yes. She did. And so did the rest of our shocked second grade table. I think someone even piddled. Might have been me. I am not going to say one way or the other.

GULP.

The WHOLE school heard about what happened at lunchtime. Kids were passing their condolences out to us when they saw us. I think I even saw money exchanging hands betting on who would get away. I prayed that last period would never end. I prayed that clock would stop and the bell wouldn’t ring. But it did.

We got on the bus and sat in the very first seat behind the bus driver. Seriously. Lesson learned. I remember there was about 3 stops before ours. I started praying that the driver would keep on going and not stop at ours. I chanted, “Please don’t stop. Please don’t stop.” It did me no good. The bus stopped at our stop.

Tiffany and I bolted down the stairs and off the bus and didn’t stop running. It was so hard to run in those little patent leather shoes. I dared look back and saw the bus driver holding his arm across the seats so John couldn’t chase us. But he couldn’t hold him forever. Eventually he would have to let him off the bus and drive the other kids home. Speaking of which, had their noses pressed up against the windows of the bus watching us run away.

I was out of breath; out of shape. I believe I still had the little kid belly situation going on. But I ran like the devil. One block. Finally two blocks. I remember we hit my building first and she had to run on to hers. I veered off to my door shouting, “See ya tomorrow!” As I pumped my arms and legs and ran inside and up to the second floor. I unlocked the door and escaped inside and bolted and locked it. I grabbed the phone to call my mom at work. (I was a latchkey kid.) She just answered and I gasped out, “Mama!” When there was a pounding at my door!

“What is that?! What is going on there? Are you OK?!” My mama asked all worried.

I explained what happened and she said she’d be right home. I hung up with her and that John kid banged on my door for a little while longer. I curled up in a ball in the kitchen and started rocking until my mama came home. I was so scared. I might have even piddled, but I am not going to say one way or the other.

The worst part was having to go to school the next day. My mom called the principal who called John’s mom, but what are they going to do at the bus stop?? So, my big sister, Sherri-Bob, walked us to the stop. She was 8 feet tall and 8 months pregnant. She was a force to be reckoned with. I remember at the bus stop, she glared at all of the kids to even take one step near me or Tiffany. She has this look that is super scary with one eyebrow raised and a fierce scowl at the same time. I felt safe when she was around. She dropped us off and picked us up for the next few days until the situation blew over and he was on to some other poor kid.

But that was one of the scariest times in my life. I have never dared mess with any type of bully since. I have definitely learned my lesson.

It is not a free bus.

 

*For more great spins on memories, visit the Sprite’s Keeper!*

4 Responses to “You’re Dead Meat!”

  1. Captain Dumbass June 17, 2009 at 10:47 pm #

    Well, if it’s any consolation, he’s probably in jail now.

  2. Sara Del's BFF June 17, 2009 at 11:27 pm #

    God your bus driver for giving you those extra 30 seconds you needed to get away. And for Sherri-Bob for getting knocked-up and not taking any crap from any kid-bully!

    When I saw the title I actually thought this was a story about Donna! lol Don’t tell her! I don’t want her to call me Dead Meat!

  3. Sara Del's BFF June 17, 2009 at 11:28 pm #

    Oh, I forgot to say that I love that story! Its a good one!

  4. Sprite's Keeper June 18, 2009 at 8:14 am #

    I love the Cap’n’s comment!
    I remember those days in school where some kids would just stake claim to seats on the bus or in the cafeteria and just brushing past them would create a fight. And the fact that he was picking on girls for sitting in his seat? He was just getting started on a life of assholeness.
    I love the way you tell it! You’re linked!

Leave a Reply

