Easter grass is a pain in my @$$!

12 Apr

So, it was a lovely Easter in the D.M. Wright household. Lots of activities going on! One of them being that we all gathered at Auntie D’s for Easter dinner. My job was to make the candied sweet potatoes. I also said I’d make dessert! Little did I realize that “dessert” would take all of my Saturday away from me. But, I think it was worth it and everyone seemed to like them.

My dessert was Bakerella’s cake pops. She makes them for every holiday and occasion and they look so cute that I just had to try them out! Now we know why she is Bakerella and I am not. Let me just say that cooking is not my thing. I absolutely hate it. Poor hubby, but he is a good sport and does it all. The only thing I can really make well is guacamole. And that does not require cooking. Just chopping and mixing. And I hate onions so I even make hubby do that!

Baking is another story. I kind of like to do that, but I am no expert. And, I haven’t had an oven until just this past week! You might remember my muffin post back in the olden days when I found out my oven didn’t work. Yeah, it has been that long! We celebrated the return of the oven by going out to dinner.

So, here is my Easter Cake Pop story:

I woke up early on Saturday and started baking around 8am. I had planned to make the cake pops and a back-up lemon cake with lemon frosting in case the pops didn’t turn out. So after baking the cakes, I had to let them cool, of course! I used a red velvet cake mix for the pops like Bakerella likes to do. I think the contrast between the colored outside and the red inside is really neat.

easter-weekend-003

But before I baked the cakes, I felt like playing a trick on hubby. He doesn’t like the way I cut things and swears that I am going to chop off a finger someday. If he is around and sees me cutting anything he grabs the knife away from me and does it himself. So, as I was mixing the batter, (not even using any knives at this point) I dipped my finger into it and ran into the bedroom (he was still sleeping). I gasped, “Honey, wake up, I cut my finger!” And I showed him the “bloody” finger. He exclaimed, “What?!” and looked at my finger and bolted up from the bed. Then I started laughing. It was mean, I know. Little A didn’t fall for it, although he thought it was gross. Looks like gullibility comes from daddy’s side of the family!

easter-weekend-001

Back to the pops…you must let the cake cool completely before starting. Then you crumble up the cake and mix it with a can of frosting. I used vanilla butter cream.

easter-weekend-004

Then you roll it into balls, ovals or whatever you are making and freeze them for a bit. This part is EXTREMELY messy! My hands even stained red for the day. I tried to take a picture of them, but no one was home but Little A and he didn’t understand the concept of holding down the button to take the picture.

easter-weekend-005

Then you melt whatever color candy melts you are using in the microwave and then dip the balls (stuck with a lolipop stick or not) into the melts. Then you must let them dry before decorating. I used pink, yellow and white for mine.

easter-weekend-008

This part took FOREVER! I was trying really hard to keep them smooth and get all of the excess off of them and not have a drippy mess! I shaped mine into white ovals for eggs, pink ovals turned sideways for bunny bodies and yellow balls for chics. I think I did some pink ovals, too for eggs but I didn’t like the way pink turned out so those are leftovers for my co-workers to eat. I have been talking about these things for a week so they’ll be mad if they don’t get any!

After you let those dry, you could then decorate them. You use corn syrup and extra melted candy melts for “glue”. The easter eggs were the cutest, followed by the chics. The pink bunnies with white marshmallow ears and tails looked more like pigs dressed up as bunnies. So I called them bunny pigs. I don’t really like the way they turned out. I used sprinkles for most of the decorations and pens that have edible ink. I even tried gum for a couple of the bunny ears to make them look more like bunnies but then it just looked like a pink flying nun. If you look below, you’ll see one chic cracked. It must have bumped heads with someone else.

easter-weekend-009

Oh, and I got so tired of the damn things that I started just making smiley faces with the yellow ones!

easter-weekend-010

I was going to set them all nicely in the lemon cake I made and it would have been a cute “farm” for all the Easter friends, but they were too heavy. It just would have looked like a Pastel Easter Sunday Massacre. So I kept them in the Styrofoam block and shoved them in some old Easter baskets. Then I went out and got some damn Easter basket grass that I swore I wasn’t going to use this year – I hate it so bad! Why does it have to get EVERYWHERE? It is like Christmas tree needles – that is why we go fake! But it made the pops look cuter. Even the pink flying bunny pig nuns. Presentation is everything.

easter-weekend-014

So there they are. I also made the lemon cake, as I said:

easter-weekend-043

And my sister tasked me with candied sweet potatoes, like I said. As you might know (or have read), our family is ginormous so we needed a gazillion sweet potatoes! But they turned out wonderfully! Just layers upon layers of sweet  potato, butter, brown sugar, cinnamon and marshmallows, all baked to perfection!

easter-weekend-022easter-weekend-037

And the boys colored eggs today. They were just so pretty that I had to post a pic. I slept in and did laundry at the same time! (Don’t ask, I am a multi-talented!) Little A got up in the middle of the night and found a “hidden” Easter egg and then couldn’t go back to sleep from all the excitement. He woke me up screaming that the Easter Bunny had come. This was around 3am. 😦 And then proceeded to get up every five minutes after that. I was exhausted!

easter-weekend-034

easter-weekend-0361

So, that was my cake pop adventure! Let me know if you try it out, too, and post pics! It was fun and time consuming, but I think everyone really liked them! Except my mom. She said they were ok. Jessie, the baby, ate parts of 3 different ones! And just ignore Unka Bob’s face; someone was talking to him at the time so it looks like it tastes bad, but he liked it. Right, Bob?? Right?

easter-weekend-072easter-weekend-073easter-weekend-071easter-weekend-075

Oh, and something Bakerella doesn’t mention, the red velvet cake not only is a surprise center for the pops, it gives you a surprise later, too. I’m just sayin’. You are welcome for the warning.

Hope y’all had a Happy Easter!

8 Responses to “Easter grass is a pain in my @$$!”

  1. Katie April 13, 2009 at 6:17 am #

    1. Celebrating a fixed oven by going out to eat = awesome!
    2. Bloody finger trick on hubby = awesome!
    3. Flying pink bunny pig nuns = awesome!

    Sounds like you had an awesome Easter!

  2. HeatherPride April 13, 2009 at 3:42 pm #

    I think the cake balls looked great! The Easter basket presentation was a clear winner. Nice!

  3. Jan April 13, 2009 at 9:33 pm #

    I think this year was the best, everythung turned out to be delicious, The kids all behaved and got along, the conversations were varied and interesting. You are an artist in the making. Who knew?

  4. kweenmama April 13, 2009 at 11:53 pm #

    The joke you played on your hubby was great. I don’t know how you could keep a straight face. That’s what always gets me when I try to play a joke.

  5. Will April 14, 2009 at 7:12 pm #

    So funny. Happy belated Easter!

  6. Ginny Marie April 24, 2009 at 8:33 pm #

    Oh, this post had me laughing! I’m still picking up Easter grass of the carpet, and it’s been a couple of weeks. (Yes, I have vacuumed recently, too!)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Someday I’ll Meet Bakerella! « Crumbs in My Keyboard - October 15, 2010

    […] first tried to make cake pops last Easter. You can read about that fiasco here. Then I made them again this […]

  2. Little Bites of Heaven « - January 21, 2011

    […] them. I have blogged about her before here and here. I have also blogged about making cake pops here. All caught up? […]

Leave a Reply

