Random Tuesday Thoughts: Oh, look…fire!

7 Apr

randomtuesday

Let’s just jump right in!

* I tried to change my nose ring last night and found that I couldn’t. I need professional help. But, in our little neck of Suburbia, there are no tattoo/piercing parlors that can handle such a task. I got my nose pierced in Phoenix last year. You might remember this post about it. It was very daring for me. Like skydiving or base jumping is for some, but not with the fall-to-your-death factor. (I just love it and hubby has grown to really like it, too. At first he wasn’t so sure.) I have gone to this tattoo parlor near my friend’s house in MI once to have it changed. We usually get up there a couple times a year so I can pop in there. And once I had it changed while I was at a conference in Toronto. I would like to put my original post back in but it is thicker than the one I have in now and it seems as though my hole closed up some so the original one won’t fit anymore. What’s a girl to do? You can really see the needle in my nose in this pic. It’s making my eyes water just looking at it!

needle

*Things I dread hearing:

  1. “Mama…Little A just threw up…ayot.”
  2. “Mommy, can you wipe me?”
  3. “Awwwwwwwhhhh….you in twouble now!” Usually just after some kind of noise. Usually spilling, splashing or breaking.
  4. “Yeah, I’m going to need you to get that report done asap.” Said in Lumbergh’s voice.

*So we ran out of paper plates today. All I wanted to do was heat up some cold pizza for the boys for dinner. I scrimmaged through my cupboards and found some old birthday cake plates. They said, “Happy Birthday” and had some bright colors and a little glitter. What the hell, right? I loaded up one plate with two pieces for Little A and stuck it in the microwave for 15 seconds. I put a paper towel over it as well so it wouldn’t splatter and make a mess all over the inside. I really hate messes inside of the microwave. Well, within 7 seconds the plate was on fire and so was my paper towel. The boys were screaming, “Fire!” Which, coincidentally, Big A just had a visit from a fire fighter at school today and learned how to Stop, Drop and Roll, so he was oh, so helpful because now he knew everything there was to know about fires. He ran to open the windows, hands covering his ears and yelling, “I hate da sound of dat fire ayarm!” Which hadn’t even gone off yet. Little A started crying because his pizza was ruined while I was busy trying to put the fire out. Meanwhile, ash had turned my clean microwave very, very dirty. And was blowing out into my kitchen.

As I threw out the burned wreckage that was Little A’s dinner, I noticed the words “Highly Flammable. Not for use in Microwave.” on the back of the plate. Well, that was helpful. Who the hell looks at the back of a pretty, shiny, Happy Birthday plate? I was in the office when hubby came home and Little A told him, “Mommy burnt my dinner. She is naughty and needs a time out!”

fire

For more RTT, visit Keely at the Un-Mom!

11 Responses to “Random Tuesday Thoughts: Oh, look…fire!”

  1. kweenmama April 7, 2009 at 1:24 pm #

    Funny post! And if it makes you feel any better, I never look at the back of paper plates. So, if I’d had those plates in my house I’m sure I would have made the same mistake.

    You are much braver than me when it comes to getting a nose ring.

  2. GreenJello April 7, 2009 at 2:00 pm #

    Wait until the kids start setting the house on fire. Eeek!

  3. C.B.Jones April 7, 2009 at 2:10 pm #

    I like getting the flew because it gives me an excuse to ask anyone who may be living with me to wipe me. It’s hilarious each and every time(until they refuse.)

  4. blueviolet April 7, 2009 at 5:25 pm #

    The needle in your nose is making me squirm too!

  5. Keely April 7, 2009 at 10:05 pm #

    lol! It would never occur to me to read the back of a paper plate. Yeesh.

    Getting my nose pierced hurt a lot. They grow in quick, even if you’ve had them a long time, so your old ring might not fit. Maybe there’s a gauge halfway between and you can stretch it back out?

  6. Captain Dumbass April 8, 2009 at 12:29 am #

    I’m good with giant tatoos, but piercings? Yeek.

  7. Heather April 8, 2009 at 12:24 pm #

    Yickes….that does look like it hurts!!!
    And who the f-ing makes paper plates that are Highly Flammable???

  8. Casey April 9, 2009 at 9:16 pm #

    I read this yesterday but the kids called me away before I got to comment. Today, I went to use a leftover party plate in the microwave and remembered your story. You may have saved my house! 😉

    That needle looks painful. I had several piercings in my younger days but these days I’m too much of a wuss for that stuff.

  9. HeatherPride April 10, 2009 at 3:14 pm #

    Oh no, flaming pizza!!! Whoever heard of a paper plate that was not microwavable???? Ridiculous.

  10. Sammanthia April 11, 2009 at 9:41 am #

    LOL! I can honestly say I’ve never set my microwave on fire. Yet.

  11. Captain Dumbass April 11, 2009 at 10:37 am #

    Didn’t you have a post that had the first chapter of your book in it?

Leave a Reply

