“They say laughter is the best medicine – that’s probably why most of my family died of tuberculosis.” Jack Handy

18 Feb

spincyclesmallMy Grandma Marion – may she rest in peace – always makes me laugh. Even now, even though she is gone.

Grandma Marion reminded me of Lucille Ball. She had similar looks and she was hilarious as well.

lucille_ball

Whenever we visited Grandma she would feed us. I remember one time when she offered me grapes. I took a couple and she exclaimed, “Eat more!” and started stuffing them into my mouth. Then she demanded that I say one of her tongue twisters.

“I slit a sheet, a sheet I slit, upon a slitted sheet I sit.”

Of course, with a mouthful of grapes you can imagine what kinds of mistakes came out of my mouth!

“Another!” She laughed.

“A skunk sat on a stump. The stump thought the skunk stunk and the skunk thought the stump stunk. So the skunk got off the stump.”

I will always remember these tongue twisters because of her.

She also loved to sing. She would sing a little song and then she would laugh. I loved her laugh. She had a smoker’s voice. It was a cross between Lucille Ball’s and Marge Simpson’s voice. I don’t remember ever seeing her smoke, but I believe she did.

“Aurea Dora, don’t spit on the floora, use the cuspidora, that’s what it’s fora!”

She also would hold the grandchildren on her lap and sing to them:

“A, you’re adorable, B you’re so beautiful, C you’re a cutie full of charm. D, you’re a darling, E, you’re so elegant, F, you’re a feather in my arms. G, you look good to me, H, you’re so heavenly, I, you’re the one I idolize! J, you’re like Jack and Jill, K, you’re so kissable…”

After I met hubby, I brought him over to her little apartment one day with my mom. As Grandma opened the door, she looked at me, then she looked at hubby. I introduced them and she exclaimed, “Oh my! Look at those blue eyes!” She grabbed her chest and sighed as if she were smitten. Hubby just laughed and said hello.

Hubby was out of the room at one point and Grandma asked about his parents and where he was from. I told her he was from New Hampshire and that his mom was still up there but his father had died when he was three. Grandma was a little hard of hearing.

“World War 3?! When was that?!” She looked from my mother and I in shock.

Laughing, I repeated myself louder. “When he was three!”

(Hubby has recently let me know that his father died when he was six, not three.)

We had Papa John’s pizza and also ordered their cinnamon bread sticks with the frosting dip. As you may or may not know, Papa John’s has a garlic butter dipping sauce for the pizza crust as well.

So we were pretty much finished with the pizza and had moved on to the dessert. Grandma accidentally dipped her cinnamon bread stick in the garlic butter.

“Yuck, I don’t know why you kids think that is so great!” She grumbled. After we finished laughing, we explained that she dipped in the wrong sauce. “What?!” she exclaimed, flabbergasted. As if she could make such a mistake. (Of course now they have this other Sweetstick thing that does not require dipping sauce. Apparently my grandma’s incident has happened one too many times.)

I miss my Grandma dearly and know that she is making God laugh and say her naughty tongue twisters in Heaven.

Grandma Marion at Chris' wedding in 2004

Grandma Marion at Chris' wedding in 2004

Lucille Ball at the 61st Academy Awards

Lucille Ball at the 61st Academy Awards

See? Practically twins!

This post was a part of SpriteKeeper’s spin cycle. This week’s spin is about laughter. Join the Spin Cycle here!

8 Responses to ““They say laughter is the best medicine – that’s probably why most of my family died of tuberculosis.” Jack Handy”

  1. Sprite's Keeper February 18, 2009 at 11:09 pm #

    Oh, she sounds like quite the woman! That “A B C” song reminds me of my own grandfather! You’re linked!

  2. Sammanthia February 19, 2009 at 12:07 am #

    LOL! My nickname when I was little was Lucy- I had curly reddish hair and was always getting into trouble. ALWAYS!

  3. D February 19, 2009 at 12:20 am #

    Thanks for the memories! Where did you get the picture? I knew that someone had taken them at the wedding, but they were not in the ones from the photographer. I was really upset. Life with Grandma Marion was a real hoot. My dressers were gotten from a garage sale where she talked the people into giving them to us for practically nothing. She kept asking how much we could afford and then telling the sellers it was too expensive until they were in our price range. She would crack me up every time we got together. She did smoke, but only in the bathroom where Grandpa couldn’t see her and only when he stressed her out. It was really funny when she would tell us of hiding in there. Good Times!!!

  4. Jan February 19, 2009 at 9:08 am #

    That is a good blog, aren’t you glad we were able to visit more than other family because they were doing something else. She was always a generous lady and loved the kids. I wonder if you could find Nancy and share her with your blog. Hopefully other grandmas would like to be remembered for their love and teachings by their own children and grandchildren. Maybe start a column or something. Loved the pictures, she always reminded me of the Andrew sisters because she and her sisters sang and danced as part of that era.

  5. kweenmama February 19, 2009 at 2:15 pm #

    It sounds to me like Grandma Marion was quite a character. She would be perfect for a Memoir don’t you think?

  6. Rachel February 19, 2009 at 11:13 pm #

    Awwwwwwwww. That was definitely funny, but also really sweet. And I love the song “A You’re Adorable”. Probably because MY grandma used to make me watch the Lawrence Welk Show with her all the time and I’m sure that’s where I heard it the first time.

  7. HeatherPride February 24, 2009 at 4:53 pm #

    Great stories! Your Grandma sounds like a total character!

  8. kirsty815 March 1, 2009 at 2:08 pm #

    Sounds like she was a great woman! Love the “A for adorable” song will have to download it and pass it on to my Meggers. Great post!

Leave a Reply

