FRIGID Temperatures & Muffin Mayhem!

17 Jan

So it has been too cold to post lately 🙂 That is my excuse for now. Today it is back up in the twenties but the last few days have been pretty bad. On my way to work yesterday it was -16 degrees! It did end up getting to be around 7 during the day. Anyways, they canceled school Thursday and Friday because of it. Those poor kids got to stay home and be warm and bored all day! Mine loved it, but they aren’t old enough to know any better.

I worked from home on Thursday but my skin was crawling by the evening. I didn’t want to make my poor mama come over in the cold to watch the kids so I made her stay home, too. But Friday, I had had it. No wonder I am not a stay at home mom! I am not cut out for it! I give all SAHMs props – PROPS to you, I give! Maybe if we lived in a big house where the kids could run and play and be on different levels from me where I can’t hear them. Maybe then it would be different. Right now we live in a second floor condo above “the man downstairs” who has complained about the kid’s noise. Recently he has been non-complaining, but it has happened in the past. Hubby had to confront him once. It wasn’t pretty. He was leaving notes on the community cork board about how Big A is so loud. Jerk.

To top it all off – Little A has been potty-training. He is doing fabulous. He has taken to the toilet like riding a bike. Which he doesn’t even know how to do yet! The only problem – he goes every two minutes. He loves going. It is getting annoying. It is almost time to leave and he says, “Mama, I want to try and go poo.” I don’t really think he has to go, but I don’t know for sure. And then if he sits there long enough he does go. He is in pull-ups so he is basically going by himself now with no help from me except for wiping when he does do number two. I guess I’d rather him go on the pot that in his pants, but geez. Then when he is in there so long – disaster strikes. I just came upon him (while writing this post) unrolling nearly a whole roll of toilet paper into the trash can below.

Then the big one sometimes reverts back and goes in his pants. It is some kind of attention grabbing strategy, I am sure since the little one is getting all the praise for going. And he has been going for a few years and no longer gets pats on the back. Listen, kid, I have been going for 30+ years and I don’t get jack. Not even privacy, so deal with it! Is that too harsh?

So today I find this Cinnamon muffin mix in my cupboard and think, yummo, a nice treat for later! I turn on the oven and mix it all up, spray the pan with a dying can of cooking spray, put it in the muffin pan and turn around to the oven. Not even warm. I remember – too late – my mom telling me at some point this week that it wasn’t working, but I forgot, of course. And because cooking is not one of my favorite past times, I never encountered the problem until now. Hubby tries to fix it. Nothing.

I finally go over to the neighbor across the hall to see if I can use her oven. Since its all mixed up and in the pan and everything…. She is not home, but gives her kid permission to help me with a quick call from him to her cell phone. With the promise of a few muffins, I thank them and leave them in his capable hands.

He brings them over – baked perfectly – golden brown. I leave them to cool for 10 minutes. Well, I used the Pampered Chef muffin pan and the darn thing never seemed to get cool. Then when I tried to pop them out, most of the tops came off. Because of the dying can of cooking spray, I assume. *BIG SIGH*. I had to bring over some muffins to thank them, of course. After they put up with the wonderful smell of cooking cinnamon muffins – how could I leave them empty-handed? This recipe called for dipping the muffins in butter and then rolling them around in this other cinnamon mixture – definitely yummy. But all I had were tops. Crummy tops at that. I think the mix was too old. It was one of those Tastefully Simple mixes – just add water. I could have sworn that I just attended a party and bought the mix of few months ago. Now that I think on it, it was probably a couple years ago.

So I buttered up those damn muffin tops and rolled them in the cinnamon mixture. I picked out the best four and put them on a plate and then I marched across the hall. I apologized for them only being tops and thanked them for the use of the oven. And I prayed that no one would die from a seriously old crummy cinnamon muffin.

I come back and look at the bowl of crumbs and a couple of sad muffin tops I now have left. I know hubby will shrug and grab a spoon for the bowl of crumbs. I know they will still taste palatable. So, why do I feel like a failure in the kitchen? This is why I don’t cook. Everything I do turns to goo. 😦 Martha has no worries about me!

15 Responses to “FRIGID Temperatures & Muffin Mayhem!”

  1. sammanthia January 18, 2009 at 12:22 am #

    I’ve given up on baking… I buy cupcakes from the bakery and call it a day.
    I can’t believe school was cancelled because of the cold temps- my kids would be THRILLED! They love it here because school is cancelled when it snows, even if it’s only an inch or so. Trust me, that wasn’t something that happened very often in Michigan. I keep a bottle of rum in the cupboard for such days.;)

  2. Otto Mann January 18, 2009 at 1:09 pm #

    greetings from SUNNY n HOT Florida!

    That is not funny. Send some of your sunshine our way!! Where in Florida? 😀

  3. Wendy January 18, 2009 at 4:57 pm #

    Oh man. That sounds like a pretty rough time. You might have left them in the pan too long. I always try to take something like that out as soon as I can stand the heat. Then cool it on a kitchen towel on the counter. Because I’m not classy enough for a cooling rack! 😉 Plus, leaving them a pan that won’t cool cooks them longer.

  4. goodfather January 18, 2009 at 11:04 pm #

    Muffin-top was my nickname in high school. Great tip from Wendy! I think we have the same hot pan problem – I always get muffins that stick, no matter how much cooking spray I use. Hmmm….

  5. graciouslady January 19, 2009 at 11:04 am #

    It wasn’t your fault honey, you never learned to cook, you didn’t have too we already had too many cooks in the kitchen.

  6. Otto Mann January 22, 2009 at 9:04 pm #

    After reading this, I am REALLY craving a cinnamon muffin. A lot.

    Like, a lot.

    • dmwright February 18, 2009 at 7:23 pm #

      For some reason your comments always go to my spam folder, Otto Mann! Sorry I haven’t noticed that sooner!!

  7. Otto Mann January 23, 2009 at 10:19 am #

    aw, c’mon. You can’t give up now!!

    I say start off small. Maybe an easy bake oven at first?

    baby steps!!!

    • dmwright February 18, 2009 at 7:24 pm #

      Do they still sell Easy Bakes? Guess what – oven is still broken. Can you tell that I really don’t cook?

  8. HeatherPride January 23, 2009 at 2:13 pm #

    I have to chuckle at your muffin story! It’s kinda funny even if the end result was so tragic!

    Be thankful that your little one is using the potty so well!!! My son had quite a time with it….and not a good time, either.

  9. kweenmama January 23, 2009 at 4:28 pm #

    Bummer about the muffins. Maybe the muffin gods were just in a bad mood that day. 🙂

    I try to bake something every Monday. It’s my way of making the beginning of a new week easier on my family. This week it was homemade bread. Yum!

  10. kirsty815 January 24, 2009 at 10:41 am #

    I don’t miss the potty training at all..lol As far as I’m concerned Muffins are Muffins you know that Panera Bread here actually just sell the tops, still taste good whether they’re whole or in pieces. YUM!

  11. goodbadandugly2 January 26, 2009 at 11:20 am #

    LOL! 🙂

  12. Sprite's Keeper February 6, 2009 at 1:25 pm #

    That muffin thing has happened to me too. But it was definitely me, not the mix. At least, that’s what John said. He hasn’t had a muffin since..

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Easter grass is a pain in my @$$! « D.M. Wright Books - April 12, 2009

    […] I am no expert. And, I haven’t had an oven until just this past week! You might remember my muffin post back in the olden days when I found out my oven didn’t work. Yeah, it has been that long! We […]

Leave a Reply

