Twelve Posts of Christmas – Post 1 – 1 Christmas Poem

24 Dec

Twas the night before Christmas, a.k.a Christmas Eve

We made it through dinner and nobody heaved

I threw the boys in the tub and got them all clean

While hubby washed the dishes until there was a sparkley sheen


We wrestled them into pj’s and read them a book

One last glass of water and their vitamins they took

They brushed their teeth and gargled like Wookies

Then left out a plate of carrots and cookies


december-festivities-099


They felt that by the time Santa arrived

The reindeer would probably be carrot deprived

Such thoughtful little children I’ve raised

We put them to bed with compliments and praise


I put on their covers and shut off the light

“Nighty, nighty, sweet babies, may you sleep tight.”

“Nighty, nighty, dear mama, we both love you.”

“See you in the mornin’; I love you both, too.”


Since the children were nestled, tucked up in the bunk

I got comfy on the living room couch with my hunk

Me with my popcorn, he with corona and lime

We had just settled down to watch some prime time


When out of the corner of my eye should appear

Little A out of bed, holding his rear

“I have poo poos, Mama,” he cried.

I rolled my eyes and heavily sighed.


“It’s 9PM, of course you do.

There isn’t a night that goes by when you don’t poo!”

I changed his diaper as quick as a mouse

As hubby was waiting; we were watching House


I returned and then the team was just about to diagnose

It has to be this time – Lupus, of course

When out of the corner of my eye should appear

Little A again, pulling at his ear


“What’s wrong with you now?” I sighed.

“My ear needs cream,” he replied.

So we got out the cream and put House on pause

“You know if you don’t go to sleep, there will be no Santa Claus.”


“OK, Mommy,” he nodded

And off to his room again he so trotted

I looked at hubby for him to press play

Hoping this time in his room Little A will stay


An insulting comment, one snide remark

Dr. House gave his team with Spriteskeeper-like snark

When out of the corner of my eye I did see

Little A, yet again, shuffling up to me


Immensely irritated, I just gave him a look

He grinned really wide and showed me a book

“Mommy, dis is my faborite stowee.”

“Darling, I am trying to watch Hugh Laurie!”


I gritted my teeth and dragged him off to bed

An array of punishments danced in my head

Spankings came to mind; maybe a bar of soap

Strangling is done best with some rope


I covered the child and breathed in deep

“Son, this has to stop, you must go to sleep!”

“But, Mommy, sometimes I just can’t close my eyes!

“If you don’t then Santa will never leave your surprise!”


He nodded, “OK, Mommy, I will be good.”

I truly hoped this time that he would.

I went back to my hubby and the mental MD

We finished the show, turned off the TV


We wrapped all the presents, set them under the tree

Scattered crumbs on the table from the cookies

Tossed soot near the fireplace and messed up the shoes

(‘Cuz that’s where we put them, don’t know if you knew)


december-festivities-102


We put on our pj’s and jumped into bed

Too tired for funny business, I patted his head

“Merry Christmas, dear hubby, now turn off the light.”

“Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night!”


This is it! It’s Christmas Eve! I hope everyone has a wonderful Christmas and a Happy New Year! I hope everyone gets what they want under the tree or in their stocking! I hope Santa is good to one and all! But mostly, I hope that no one forgets the real meaning of Christmas. The story about the little baby who was immaculately conceived, born in a manger and grew up and died on a cross for your sins. Please don’t forget about Him. He is the best present that you have been given this year and every year.

God Bless your Christmas and time spent with your loved ones!! Merry Christmas and Happy Hanukkah!!



9 Responses to “Twelve Posts of Christmas – Post 1 – 1 Christmas Poem”

  1. Lily December 24, 2008 at 2:49 am #

    I LOVE HOUSE!! Thanks for the cute poem.
    JESUS IS THE REASON FOR THE SEASON.

    House rocks! Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Sprite's Keeper December 24, 2008 at 2:41 pm #

    I loved this!!!
    It’s better than the one I have for tomorrow!
    You have great timing and it all flowed so well,
    Saving me from my own holiday hell.
    It’s blogs like this I will likely remember
    When I think back on my favorite things of December.
    Happy Holidays, D.M.!!

    Awwww – thanks! Happy Holidays to you to, Jen!! Loved your little poem here!! 😉 Give my love to Sprite 😀

  3. HeatherPride December 24, 2008 at 3:01 pm #

    Oh, I know this will be my night as well! Merry Christmas!

    Merry Christmas to you, too, Ms. Pride!!

  4. katie December 24, 2008 at 10:17 pm #

    A poem with poo in it! I love it! Merry Christmas! – Katie

  5. kirsty815 December 27, 2008 at 2:40 pm #

    Loved the Poo Poo line! Very Cute! Hope you all had a wonderful Christmas.

    Everyone loves the poo line – it’s so funny!! I had a wonderful Christmas! I hope you did as well – Happy New Year!

  6. kweenmama December 29, 2008 at 8:01 pm #

    I loved your poem! I am jealous. I wish I were that talented to dash off poems like that. I remember the days of little ones not settling down at night…especially on Christmas Eve. Sometimes I miss those days…sigh.

    And thanks for the reminder on WHY we celebrate Christmas. Unfortunately much of the world has forgotten.

    Thanks, Kweenmama! It took a little time to get it all rhyming right, but it was fun 🙂 Hope you had a great Christmas! How is Hub doing?

  7. Jan January 5, 2009 at 10:58 am #

    You really are hysterical in your writing.your little saint, may he keep you creative for years, also big A too. I think you ought to turn to comedy, and I ahve watched House on USA for weeks, getting to know the ascerbic Dr.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Christmas Eve With Hugh Laurie - December 24, 2008

    […] Lynn on December 24th, 2008 Thanks to wonderful House fan Grace for sending me the tip about this cute poem. (All parents of little ones will definitely identify…) And how fitting that Christmas Eve […]

  2. Did you mean: I can’t spell and I am a perv? « D.M. Wright Books - March 4, 2009

    […] funny christmas poems 2 – that’s me […]

Leave a Reply

