Twelve Posts of Christmas – Post 3 – 3 Reasons to Give

22 Dec

Today’s post is about giving. We have all heard the phrase, “It is better to give than to receive”, I’m sure. I know I have.

It is true. Nothing is better than the happiness you feel when someone opens a present from you and they LOVE it! I go all out for my family and friends – more than I should, so some people tell me – but I am a giver. I love to give and I know that some of my family can’t afford to give back, and that is all right with me. Sure, there are times that I have the negative thoughts about where my gift is. This is more than just Christmas I am talking about. I am always giving and where is my gift? Of course I have these thoughts sometimes, but I am only human. Then I remember that others may not be as fortunate as I am and that it is better to give than to receive. And I am doing it to show them that I love them and am expecting nothing in return.

You could also give to those you don’t know who are less fortunate: Toys for Tots, families that can’t afford coats for their children, orphanages or churches. When you give what you can to these kinds of places, you just know that you are doing the right thing and that somewhere, some little girl or boy will have something to make them happy on Christmas morning.

Then there are the charities and causes – Salvation Army, Goodwill, Global Hunger, Habitat for Humanity, The Humane Society, Cancer Research, the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, Epilepsy Foundation, Disabled Veterans, and many, many others! These are any time of year giving and volunteering places and they need all the help they can get. Because some day, someone is going to find a cure and don’t you want to be a part of that?!

So, my three reasons to give?

1) Giving is a gift to yourself – there is nothing better than that giving feeling you get! Don’t lose that giving feeling – whoa, that giving feeling!

2) Imagining a child’s innocent face as they open up a gift that some stranger thought to give them out of the goodness of their heart. You never know – that gift might also give that little one some hope. Hope that there is better out there than what he sees in his little world. Just as a simple smile may brighten and change someone’s entire day – your gift can change this child’s life.

3) To be a part of something bigger than yourself. Give back to our community and maybe, if we all did our part, we could help make the world a much happier place 🙂

2 Responses to “Twelve Posts of Christmas – Post 3 – 3 Reasons to Give”

  1. sammanthia December 22, 2008 at 1:04 pm #

    Great post and I totally agree… Toys For Tots is an awesome way to give back and we do it every year.
    Have a great holiday!

  2. Jan January 5, 2009 at 11:12 am #

    You know all about giving and who the real giver is He gave all that He had for you and me.

Leave a Reply

