Twelve Posts of Christmas – Post 4 – 4 Eyes No Longer!

21 Dec

Today’s post is about the fabulous results of my Custom Lasik surgery! I had the procedure done on Thursday, December 18th around 11:30 am. It is now 3 days later and my eyes are already feeling better and I have 20/15 vision! (As of my one day follow up appointment.)

I went to a TLC Laser Center – the same place Tiger Woods had his done. In fact, a coupon that Tiger sent me is why I became interested in the first place. Tiger and I go way back… Actually, I last saw him in a Chili’s talking shop with some other guys while hubby and I dined with friends. He was cool about it and didn’t make a scene.

Anyways, since TW (that’s what I call him) sent me that coupon, I went online to make an appointment for my free consultation. I had to wear glasses for two weeks beforehand so my eyes would go back to their natural shape. Did you know that wearing contacts changes the shape of your eyes? Yeah, me neither!

So then at my consultation, I had a barrage of exams where they mapped my eyes! They told me that I was being over -prescribed by my eye doctor and that my glasses were almost double the prescription that I needed! How ridiculous is that?!

They concluded that I was a perfect candidate and told me how much it was (gulp) and when would I like to come back for it?

The procedure was a little weird. The worst part was when they suction your eye so they can make the corneal flap. (Because of this pressure from the suctioning, I have some broken blood vessels on the whites of my eyes. These should go away in time.) You see, the surface of the eye is like skin on the rest of your body. If they preformed the procedure right on top of the eye, it would heal itself and you would need glasses again in a week or so. So they make this corneal flap while your eye ball is suctioned and then they pull it back and laser your cornea. The whole thing takes about five minutes on each eye. It was over pretty quickly and I was seeing better than with my contacts or glasses by the same night.

The most annoying thing about it is the eye drops! I have four different drops that have to be applied at different intervals throughout the day for the first month. Today I have two drops 4x a day and one drop every half hour! I have an alarm on my phone that goes off so I don’t forget because I cannot believe how fast a half an hour goes by!! And…the goggles. I have to wear these ridiculous goggles when I sleep so that I- or anyone I happen to be sleeping with- can’t injure them at night. Hubby says I look like I am ready to play some b-ball with them on.

Anyways, I highly recommend Lasik if you are considering it. It truly is amazing!!

4 Responses to “Twelve Posts of Christmas – Post 4 – 4 Eyes No Longer!”

  1. kweenmama December 21, 2008 at 7:55 pm #

    It makes my eyes hurt just reading about it. Congrats on being able to get the procedure though! I only wear glasses when I am driving. I hope I can keep it that way for a long time.

  2. Wayne December 22, 2008 at 6:43 am #

    It’s that (gulp) I think that I would fear the most. 🙂 I’m sure it will be a great relief to see better with out the aid of utensils.

  3. Jan December 22, 2008 at 2:03 pm #

    Congrats on having the surgery I know you will feel better without glasses and contacts. You will always look beautiful no matter what.

  4. Jordy January 5, 2009 at 12:09 am #

    I have decided to wait. I guess I am really protective of the only set of eyes I have. I figure that as good as the surgeons are now at Lasik in five years or so it will be almost perfect.

Leave a Reply

