Twelve Posts of Christmas – Post 8 – 8 Lessons of Virtual Terminology

17 Dec

This post is for my mama and for anyone else that is unfamiliar with virtual terminology.

#8) LOL – Laughing out loud. I think everyone is familiar with this one. It is the easiest one. What everyone doesn’t know, is that people use this all the time, but it is not what they are necessarily doing. Some will use it after someone has said something funny, but they won’t even have cracked a smile! It’s shameful really. Don’t use it unless you mean it, people! Sometimes, I will use BG or “Big grin”. This one I thought I made up myself, but probably not. I haven’t seen anyone else use it except me and those who got it from me, but nothing is new in this world, so I am not taking credit for it.

#7) LMAO – Laughing my ass off. Another easy one. Some people might say LMBO because they don’t like to swear. It is like saying shoot instead of shit. (Sorry, mom.)

#6) ROTFLMAO – Rolling on the floor, laughing my ass off. Again, some would say ROTFLMBO. (Butt instead of ass). Sometimes people just use ROTFL (Rolling on the floor laughing).

#5) IDK – I don’t know. This one is used a lot in my family.

#4) BTW – By the way.

#3) BRB – Be right back. More commonly used in chat rooms or on messenger programs. For example, if you need to use the washroom or will be gone for a few minutes, you would use this.

#2) TTYL – Talk to you later.

#1) OMG – Oh my gosh, god, goodness. Whatever you prefer.

#0) WTF or WTH – “What the f*** or fudge” and “What the hell or heck”. I just had to get these last ones in.

Those are the most common phrases or acronyms. Please refer back to this post when reading other posts. It might help you get through them! You’re welcome, Mama!

3 Responses to “Twelve Posts of Christmas – Post 8 – 8 Lessons of Virtual Terminology”

  1. HeatherPride December 17, 2008 at 2:12 pm #

    Haha, once my dad called me at work to ask me what a/s/l meant. I asked him what kind of chat room he was in that people were asking that!!! (age/sex/location for your mama)

    Turns out he was in a virtual poker room. I believe him.

  2. sammanthia December 17, 2008 at 9:35 pm #

    I’ve used WTF! and WTH! in my posts before… I’m sure my mil was very confused. I hope she didn’t think to ask anyone to explain otherwise I’m in deep crap when we go back for the holidays.;)

  3. katie December 19, 2008 at 4:12 pm #

    A few weeks ago my boss came out of his office and asked me if his granddaughter texted him LOL, did that mean “Lots of Love?” He’s in his 60’s, so it was pretty funny.

Leave a Reply

