Honey-Do

11 Nov

I am sure that everyone gives their hubby a “Honey-Do” list once in awhile. It happens, right? They can’t remember from one room to the next what they were supposed to do in there. Or maybe it is just mine?

Any trip to the store must involve a list if there are more than three items to purchase. Eggs, milk, and bread is a snap. Add some fat-free sour cream, red potatoes, a half a pound of muenster and diet coke to that and it’s all over. You are lucky if they come home at all! They end up just circling the store aimlessly and you lose them in the alcohol section. Beeerrr… need sustenance..must have beeeerrr….

My Hubby has a Blackberry so I always get, “Email me what you want.” It helps when he is on his way home from work and I need something for dinner or we run out of diapers or worse…chocolate. Sometimes it is nice to hear his voice, however, but I have better luck getting him if I email. 😦

So when I need some chores done around the house, of course I have to make a list.

“Honey, while I am gone today, can you throw the towels in the dryer, run the dishwasher and vacuum? And make sure you take a picture of you vacuuming. I promised the bloggers a photo.”

He looks up from the TV with a blank stare. He has heard nothing I have said. I can tell by the vacant look in his eyes. Then awareness comes to him, but he realizes what a situation he will be in if he admits that he didn’t hear me. So he says, “Can you make me a list?” It is always a safe thing for him to say.

I am hip to your jive, mister.

So yesterday, I am working in the office and I hear Hubby tell Big A – while he was watching TV – “Hey, bud, tomorrow when you get home from school, can you sweep the leaves off the porch?” A few moments go by and then…

“Um, can you make me a yist?”

I can not control my laughter as I hear Hubby, taken aback, say, “Uh…yeah…”

Hubby comes back into the office perturbed and a little outraged, but also laughing a little. “Did you hear him?”

I just kept laughing.

“A yist?! He can’t even read!!” He couldn’t decide whether to laugh or to frown.

“He’s just like his Daddy!”

 

7 Responses to “Honey-Do”

  1. Donna November 11, 2008 at 10:23 pm #

    They are amazing – boyz and men. They soak up the things around them like a sponge. Yet when you squeeze them, you don’t always get out the good that goes in. Your boyz and man are very special. Keep the stories coming – gotta luv em!!! Did he get a picture?

  2. kweenmama November 12, 2008 at 7:24 am #

    This made me chuckle. There is so much truth to it! I have to constantly make my hubby a list for grocery shopping. He freely admits that he needs it. Isn’t it funny what kids pick up on?!

  3. Jan November 12, 2008 at 10:45 am #

    Big A is a smart thinker. He picks up on anything even when he is focused on the t.v. You don’t think he hears you but he will aleays come up with what you said later. The boys made a big production of sweeping the leaves off even though it was hailing they wanted to do what dad said on their list.The apples don’t fall from the tree.

  4. Sprite's Keeper November 12, 2008 at 9:41 pm #

    That is classic!
    Glad you’re back! We missed you!

  5. Wayne November 14, 2008 at 6:40 am #

    Remember that I read these sis, and selective hearing and selective memory are well documented diseases. 🙂 We learn it early and often. :):)

  6. HeatherPride November 14, 2008 at 2:07 pm #

    That is great! Out of the mouthes of babes, huh? Gotcha, dad!

  7. kirsty815 November 15, 2008 at 10:54 am #

    That’s karma baby, love that you got your own back without even having to say anything..lol

    Kirst

Leave a Reply

