Part Cuatro after all?

28 Sep

I am sure you have all heard of the phrase ” Six Degrees of Separation” and the Kevin Bacon game? If not, to sum up, it is a theory that everyone is separated by six people. That you can probably find someone you know in talking to someone (and with a lot of research) through at least six people. The Kevin Bacon game is kind of fun, actually. You name an actor and within six or less actors that have been in movies with the previous actor, you can get to Kevin Bacon. There is even a website about it: The Oracle of Bacon.

You see? So anyway – on to Part Cuatro de mi familia. This one is about Eric A. Long ago before my sister Donna married Unka Bob, my mom had some friends who were in a Christian band. In the band was Unka Bob and so my mom introduced him to Donna and voila! The rest is history. Maybe I should have told that story in Part Uno? Hmmm. Anyways, also in that band was Eric A’s dad.

Fast forward 10 years to me in high school. I went to a private Christian school here. Low and behold, Eric A and his other brothers and sisters attend the school as well. I never really talked to him or had any kind of friendship with the family, but just remembered that their dad was in that band with my brother-in-law. Eric was a year younger than me and I never knew him back in the band days. Of course he would have been 3 or so and I was 4 so maybe I met him back then, who knows? I never told him of the band link in high school because, like I said, we never really talked and he probably would have thought I was a weirdo. High school guys don’t care about stuff like that. After I graduated, a few of my nieces and nephews went to the school as well and were in classes with some of the A’s, too. My nephew Chris was good friends with a younger brother of Eric’s, in fact.

Fast forward 19 years to now. I entered the world of Facebook. Low and behold, Eric A is on Facebook. We became friends and caught up a little and I finally told him about the band link. And also this other fact:

My niece Aimee married Keola, as you know – both went to the private school at some point or another. Keola’s brother Kavika married Beth, who also went to the school and who’s brother Aaron was in my class. Their brother Josh married Harmony, who both went to the school and Harmony is Eric A’s little sister. So not only was there the band link, but in the end, Eric A. and I are related through “six degrees of separation.” I have another theory about everyone at this school being related somehow as well, but that is for another post!

We thought that was kind of funny and he joked and called me “Sis” and then a few days later, he became a friend with someone else on Facebook. Their last name was familiar to me and so I asked him how he knew that family. He said he was in a band himself with a few of the family members. Well, low and behold, AGAIN, the family members were apart of this huge Italian family that I went to church with. The pastor of the church is actually the husband of one of the sister’s in the family and I baby-sat for the Pastor’s kids ALL the time while I was in high school (before Eric A was in the band) and a little while after high school.

During college, I no longer baby-sat, but still attended the church and was involved in the youth group. A brother of the pastor’s wife, Jim, was a youth leader with me and I won’t lie, I had a little crush on him. He was very talented and funny. The youth group, X-Stream, performed skits and things and I wrote poems that Jim performed as “The Poet”. He dressed up in a black turtle-neck, black jeans, a bright green silky shirt with a black little hat. A hat a poet would wear. I am not sure of the timing – I think it was before the youth group stint – but Jim was the one in the band with Eric A, and I had no clue until recently.

****EDIT***** As mom pointed out in the comment below, while Big A was in preschool, there was a little boy in his class who’s grandma was in the band with Unka Bob and was good friends with my mom. Now they are good friends again – it had been ages since they saw each other last – and, as it turns out, she is Eric A.’s Godmother as well!

When I explained all of this to Eric, we concluded that we must be related somehow. It also confirms the “Six Degrees of Separation” theory, and thus ends the story of Part Cuatro and my “Bro”, Eric A.

Eric – Hope you don’t mind I am using your pic! I would have used the other one, but I didn’t want everyone to think you really looked like that 🙂 You know the one I am talking about. Yeah.

8 Responses to “Part Cuatro after all?”

  1. Wendy September 28, 2008 at 7:43 pm #

    I’m glad your back. That was really interesting!

  2. Jan September 29, 2008 at 10:04 am #

    It seems like all kinds of people are coming back into your life via My Space and Facebook just like Big A has a friend from preschool and his grandma is Eric’s godmother. We are all tied together in special ways.

  3. Donna September 29, 2008 at 12:16 pm #

    The world is so much smaller than we think. No matter where I go, I find someone who knows someone and is related to so and so.

    My children learned that they could not go out in public without running into someone that knew their parents, so they learned that they had to behave out in the real world because someone always told mom and dad what they were up too.

    Glad you had time to write, I missed you!!!

  4. kweenmama September 30, 2008 at 10:12 am #

    Glad to have you back!

    I have always been intrigued by six degrees of separation and the Kevin Bacon game. There is a morning radio show here that plays it on the air every once in awhile.

  5. Karen October 3, 2008 at 4:10 pm #

    Oooh, guess what, guess what? I can actually play that Kevin Bacon game, honest!!

    My hubby’s (1) cousin(2) is married to a budding director(3) who directed Robbie williams and Nicole Kidman’s (4) music video who was married to Tom Cruise (5) who starred in the movie A Few Good Men with KEVIN BACON(6 degrees)!

    LOL

  6. dmwright October 4, 2008 at 8:15 pm #

    Karen – wow! Not many people can actually get to Kevin Bacon themselves! I am impressed!!! Actually, I can get to him, too, surprisingly. When I was little, I went to church with Christina Moore (1) who was on That Seventy’s Show with Ashton Kutcher (2) who was in What Happens in Vegas with Cameron Diaz (3) who was in Vanilla Sky with Tom Cruise (4) who was in A Few Good Men with Kevin Bacon!

  7. Sammanthia October 8, 2008 at 5:45 pm #

    Sadly, I can’t get to Kevin Bacon… in a weird way I’m related to Samuel Morse. He invented the Morse code. I know… I am awesome.;)

  8. hpygolky October 10, 2008 at 11:38 pm #

    My maiden name is Wright and everyone use to ask me if I was related to the famous flying Wright Brothers. Does that count? Truly the world is a small place. I just read a headline that Sarah Palin is related to Princess Diana and Barack Obama is somehow related to Brad Pitt. Go figure… great blog. Welcome to the family Erik A. I attended several of the said band’s concerts and I’m also related to Unka Bob.

Leave a Reply

