Mi Familia – Part Dos!

4 Sep

Part two begins with my brother, Wayne. The second oldest – he was 15 when I was born – and my mother’s living nightmare. He was accident prone and on more than one occasion, the police had shown up at her door.

The memory about my brother that I have (could be another planted memory) is when I burst in on him in the bathroom when I was little and came out screaming in horror, “Wayne’s got a tail, Wayne’s got a tail!”

Like I said, Wayne was accident prone. He was in the ER quite often. My mom was on a first name basis with all the nurses. The worst was when he worked in a factory feeding metal into a big machine and it ate his thumb. My sister called it “de-gloving” his skin from his thumb. To keep the bone alive, they had to sew his hand to his groin area and he had to walk around with a poncho on. They had to put a nerve from his middle finger into his thumb so he could feel it. Now, I tease and say that when he is flipping someone off, he sticks up his thumb at them.

Then another time, he fell on a stick and it poked him in the cheek. It damaged some nerves in his face. The end result is that when he eats/chews, that side of his face sweats! The stories never end!

Wayne married young and had children young. I was four when Wayne’s oldest, Kevin was born. Then they had David and Rachel.

Here they are more recently with another one of my nieces, Aimee. (She comes in Part Tres.)

Kevin is a hottie bartender living the Cocktail life in Florida. He used to be a pirate (he is the one with the finger – runs in the family):

David is married to Nicole:

And Rachel is married and has two babies. I, unfortunately do not have a picture of the newest baby, Ty or her husband, Jody, but here is one of Rachel and her first, Arianna:

Then, Wayne divorced from his first wife and married Rita. They have FOUR kids together, three boys and a girl. All the boys initials are WWW like my brother. They are: Walynn (pronounced WAY-LYNN), Wyatt and Wayra (pronounced WAYDUH). His daughter is named Aylah (A-LA). Here they are. If you look close, you can see Wayne’s big thumb on the kid’s shoulder on the left:

So ends Part Dos! Stay tuned for Part Tres and the funniest story you have ever heard about my youngest, older sister, Sherri-Bob.

7 Responses to “Mi Familia – Part Dos!”

  1. sammanthia September 5, 2008 at 7:48 am #

    I had to read the 3rd paragraph 4 times just to make sure I was reading it right. It’s early, so I thought maybe the lack of caffeine was screwing with my head, but… wow. That’s all I got.
    I’ll never complain about my kids’ being accident prone. Ever. Again.

  2. HeatherPride September 5, 2008 at 11:13 am #

    So in your family, giving someone the “thumb’s up” has an entirely different meaning!

  3. Sprite's Keeper September 5, 2008 at 1:40 pm #

    This just keeps getting better and better! When is Tres coming?

  4. Wendy September 5, 2008 at 3:27 pm #

    I really feel like I’m getting to know you now. 🙂

  5. kweenmama September 7, 2008 at 4:30 pm #

    Lol at HeatherPride’s comment. 🙂

    Keep the stories coming!

  6. Wayne October 16, 2008 at 5:46 am #

    Just to set the record straight. I am not all thumbs. 🙂
    But you are keeping me laughing Lil Sis!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mi Familia - Part Tres « D.M. Wright Books - November 30, 2008

    […] before time began – for me, at least – Donna, Wayne (Part Dos) and Sherri Bob were in the backseat while my mama was driving down the road. The kids were […]

Leave a Reply

