Mi Familia – Part Uno!

30 Aug

I have the biggest family in the world.

I exaggerate. I probably don’t have the biggest family in the world, but it is pretty big.

We’ll start off with my mama. Here we are – my mama and me.

She is the best mama I have ever had. Seriously. She had me when she was 40 – pretty uncommon for that age, 30+ years ago. She is a wonderful lady and has some pretty interesting things to say over at Chatting with G.G. She grew up as the oldest with 3 brothers. Yikes. Then went on to have a GI-NORMOUS family of her own. Let us begin.

First she had my eldest sister, Auntie D. Here we are – my sista and me.

You might remember reading about her in this post. It was pretty funny and I will never let her live it down. NEVER. She reads my blog, but never comments. I think she thinks that if she doesn’t comment then I will not think that she reads it. But, then again, maybe I do not want her to comment because then she’ll rat me out to our mama about something or another. My earliest memory of Auntie D is probably only a memory because it has been told/referred to/talked about many times. So I do not know if it is a memory or if it is a recollection of stated facts.

I was knee high to a grasshopper. How old that is, one can never be sure. But there I was. I wanted a piece of cheese – the kind that comes sliced up in their own wrappers. Now referred to as Kraft singles, but back then, it was just cheese. So I am rooting around in the fridge. If you were in the kitchen, you could only see my feet sticking out from beneath the door. I acquire my desired object and just when I am about to turn around and leave, a deep, scary voice yells, “Who’s in the REFRIGERATOR?!?!?!?!” I jumped a mile, slammed that door and scurried out of the kitchen with a pitter-patter of my little, itty-bitty feet. Because if I was knee high to a grasshopper – those would be some tiny feet. To this day I cannot eat that type of cheese.

So, you have no doubt guessed that the scary voice was my sister. She was probably around 19-20 or so since aforementioned, my mama had me when she was 40 and Auntie D was 16 when I was born. Yes, wonder no further. I was an accident.

Auntie D married Unka Bob when I was three or four. I was their flower girl. I did not do the greatest job at the flowering part. I was a shy child and did not like a lot of attention. So when I was standing all alone at the back of the humongous Catholic church where they got married, I was in tears. I had to walk down that long aisle all by myself. It wasn’t happening, people. There was no way. So when it was my turn, I tore down that thing like the demons of hell were on my tail. Flower petals, schmlower petals. Them things stayed in my little basket until I accidentally dumped them on the altar later.

Anyways, Unka Bob has been around in my life a LONG time. Here we are:

D and Bob were more like second parents growing up than sister and bro-in-law. My mama and me lived with them most of my life and my mama worked all the time and left me with Auntie D. I was like her oldest child. Then came this one:

That’s Chris. He was pretty cute. I don’t know what happened, but he was, long ago 😉 Now, he’s just crabby. lol

Then came Jon. I think Little A looks like him in this picture.

Also cute. They were like little brothers to me. We lived together in perfect harmony for quite some time. Now, my two A’s remind me of them.

That is not a real gorilla, y’all. Just so you know. Or a kangaroo.

And then…there was Auntie B.

She is a beautiful young woman now and she likes to watch my kids – yay for me!

Chris is now married to his cute little wifey, Sabrina.

I can’t find another one of them together so here is one of me, Sabrina and Auntie B.

Jon is engaged to Jen and they have a cute little one year old named Jess. In the pic, Jess is only 5 months old. Jen has five other kids: Nik, Kris, Mandy, Bri and Joe.

Now, they are one big happy family!

Auntie B is still flying solo, but she has a boyfriend named Co-wee. That is how Little A says his name.

And that, my bloggy friends, is part uno de mi familia! I have to split it up into parts or you will be here all week.

Oh, and did I mention that I was half Mexican? Ole!

18 Responses to “Mi Familia – Part Uno!”

  1. Anonymous August 30, 2008 at 8:32 pm #

    I have commented before, but I just never let you know who I was before.

    She never posts the good pictures of me, and I am not as big a clutz as she has led you to believe. I am the big sista/mama and have been for thirty something years now.

    She says she was an accident, I say she was a blessing and kept a small family together for a few more years.

    She was my first baby and will always be. Her two beautiful boys are our first “grand” children and they will always be so very special to us. Wait til she posts the Thomas the Train Story with pics. lol

    Her first words came out a lot like her little guys talk now. When she was two, she lived in a hotel and had to take the “aligator” alot and never wanted the “aligator” to get her as she went up and down.

    If she keeps describing me as the clutzy one, I might have to start my own blog, she forgets, I was there for almost all of her life too. Aren’t families grand?

    Our family is and will always be a loving one. Love ya little sista.

  2. dmwright August 30, 2008 at 10:45 pm #

    Love you, too, big sista. You must have been the comment on the Wall-E post! The one that said, “That doesn’t bode well for a train ride.” I never knew…

    I think I will let you guest post the Thomas the train story for me since you took them and have all the pictures!! I have always wanted a guest poster 😀

    To be honest, the only time I remember you being clumsy was at the water park this year. You have always been very cool and collected in my opinion. That is why I can’t let you live down the one time you weren’t!! LOL Hope to see more comments from you in future!

  3. kweenmama August 30, 2008 at 11:54 pm #

    I love it when people post about their family. This was fun to read. Can’t wait to see what comes next.

  4. HeatherPride August 31, 2008 at 12:34 pm #

    I’m always in wonder of big families – I was the only child of an only child, so my mom and I are kind of like sisters. She lives with us during the workweek and watches the kids. It was nice to get to know your family!

  5. kirsty815 August 31, 2008 at 1:08 pm #

    Oh My Goodness, this is only part one to your family, you weren’t kidding about it being big..lol

    Awww I’m another person who loves to read about families, mines pretty big too. I love that your aunt posted and “m waiting eagerly for the Thomas story..lol

    Maybe she can use that voice to get me to stop eating lord knows I need to shed a few pounds..lol

    Great post and I love the pics!
    Kirst

  6. sammanthia August 31, 2008 at 9:52 pm #

    Dang, you’re family is about as big as mine! We’re a bunch of hillbillies so it should be a good time!
    This is really cool, I wish I had pictures like these, so that when my kids are older they can see who they are a part of… my dang mom won’t give them up. I think it’s time for a nasty post about her selfish ways.;)

  7. Wendy September 1, 2008 at 11:56 am #

    Aww. Great family! You were lucky to have two “moms.” I can’t wait to hear about the rest of your family.

  8. Allison September 1, 2008 at 4:32 pm #

    Awww…that sounds like my husband’s family. He was the 7th child in a Catholic family…his parents were in their 40’s and his closest sibling was 11 years older than he. He had the privilege of having a couple of second mothers, and some very fun brothers.

    You sound like you have been blessed with a wonderful family…especially the babysitter part.

  9. dmwright September 1, 2008 at 4:52 pm #

    Heather – Thanks, but sometimes being in a huge family wasn’t as great as cracked up to be! Many times, I wished I was an only child! My mom watches my kids now when they aren’t in school, so that is nice that your mom can, too!

    Kirst – I would love to read about your family! They sound like a fun bunch! Especially the story about your mom and your hubby…lol. IN DETAIL, WITH PICS :D!!!

    Sam – Post away about your mother’s selfish ways! I would love to read it!! Or maybe you can tell her you are and use it as blackmail for some of those pictures!!

    Thanks Wendy – our talk online the other night enticed me to write about the family. I figured I could get a few great posts out of mine! HAHA!

    Allison – Thanks for stopping by! I love your blog!! Actually, “Unka Bob” was from a large Catholic family as well and has 7 brothers and sisters, I think…I lost track! It is nice having a few moms and dads to help out. My mom sure needed it!
    Thanks for the kind words and I LOVE my babysitter, but haven’t seen her in awhile – she got a job. Harrumph!

  10. Jan September 2, 2008 at 9:40 am #

    I guess many people have big families, I always thought that mine were pretty smal. Growing up we never had any relatives over and din’t know any of my dad’s. just met his baby sister a few years ago and now she has passed away. My brother has dug into the generation history because we didn’t know anything.
    I am always astonished that God took a little girl into a big family and the tree has branched out so big.When you write the next post don’t forget to include your brother and his family, 7 kids, Wow. I love reading all the blogs of the ladies that have responded to your stories so encourage them also. I love your babysitter also.

  11. Sprite's Keeper September 2, 2008 at 12:35 pm #

    Looking forward to part 2! My brother in law, Felipe always thinks he’s an only child since his 3 older brothers were all entering their teens when he came about!

  12. Karen September 2, 2008 at 3:34 pm #

    That was a great post about your family! Gosh, it is large isn’t it? Some great photographs there as well. Anyway, can’t wait for part 2!

  13. Aimee September 3, 2008 at 4:16 pm #

    I just wanted to say… this family not THAT big. LOL Maybe compared to an only child… for goodness sakes, you are making it out to be way worse than it really is. HAHAHA But I suppose when it comes to all the branching out… it is kinda big… oh well. You better get on the rest of this family bit… you’re leaving a few of us out anyways…

  14. kirsty815 October 13, 2008 at 10:39 am #

    Hey woman,
    How ya doing? How are the books coming along?

    Kirst

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mi Familia - Part Tres « D.M. Wright Books - September 15, 2008

    […] is the one with her mouth open. And that is my oldest sister, Donna, if you remember back in Part Uno and me in the middle. […]

  2. Part Cuatro after all? « D.M. Wright Books - September 28, 2008

    […] mom introduced him to Donna and viola! The rest is history. Maybe I should have told that story in Part Uno? Hmmm. Anyways, also in that band was Eric A’s […]

  3. Twelve Posts of Christmas - Post 2 - 2 People Married « D.M. Wright Books - December 23, 2008

    […] Back to our first meeting – as I sat at his gate at the airport, my heart raced. What if he didn’t like me in person? What if I didn’t like him? What if we had awkward silences? What if he was ugly? What if he didn’t like my family? What if my family scared him? He was meeting them all in one big hunk on Easter, and as you know, I have un familia gigante! […]

  4. RTT: Loose Lips Sink Ships or LONGEST BUS RIDE EVER! « D.M. Wright Books - June 23, 2009

    […] nephew Chris, mentioned in this post, has been in the hospital for the last few weeks. He was transferred downtown to the University of […]

Leave a Reply

