I only cried a yittle bit…

26 Aug

Big A’s first day of Kindergarten…I know you have been dying to find out what happened. He was fine. I was incredulous. I was expecting tears and a last minute drive to his school instead of him taking the bus, but I was pleasantly surprised. He got on that bus and never looked back. Literally.

Here are the boys waiting for the bus. Little A wished him a good day with a hug.

The sun was behind me, obviously, so that is why they are squinting. It was either that or having glare off the picture. I decided to sacrifice their vision for good quality. Mother of the Year, right here!

Here he is on the bus. Because of the sun and the glare, I couldn’t see right where he was sitting, but I saw waving and shot the picture. Turns out it was this friendly girl and Big A was behind her, not looking back as aforementioned. A lovely pic of the girl, however. Isn’t she cute?

Later on, Big A said he only cried a yittle bit when he got to school and didn’t know where to go. But, of course, the teacher was there to pick them up, but he didn’t realize that. He said a kid threw up on the bus, and a kid got stung by a bee when they got to school. Busy day for the nurses office already!

In the end, he had fun and went back on Monday morning without problems.

Over the weekend we decided to change the boy’s toddler beds to a bunk bed to give them more space to play in their room. So if the change with school didn’t ruin him, I thought I’d throw a sleeping arrangement change into the mix. Here is what it was like before:

You might remember this mess from this post. But you can see the idea with the two beds and the too many toys and the not enough space.

Here it is now:

It is much better and Big A loves his top bunk and his new reading area. This is them now, as I am blogging in piece and quiet!!

If you look real close, you can see Big A’s head in the top. I hate to wake them up, but the plus side is that they love their new beds!! Yay!

9 Responses to “I only cried a yittle bit…”

  1. kweenmama August 26, 2008 at 6:30 pm #

    Their room looks great! And I’m glad the first day of school went off without a hitch. Ah, how quickly they grow!

  2. Wendy August 27, 2008 at 6:49 am #

    Maybe it was the sun, but Little A does not look happy to have his big brother going to school! I’m glad he had a good first day.

    I love the bunk beds. I’ve been trying to make Noah realize he may be sharing a room with Tripp when we move (it’s hard to find a 4bdrm house!) but he’s not having it. I told him they could have bunk beds, and that helped a little. lol.

    I love those bins. Do they help?

  3. dmwright August 27, 2008 at 9:07 am #

    Thanks, Kweenmama!!

    Wendy – the bins help and they don’t help. We try to keep the different toys sorted, but they all end up jumbled together. But when they clean up they can just throw everything in the bins. And then it looks neat, at least!

  4. HeatherPride August 27, 2008 at 1:19 pm #

    Awwww, I had to chuckle at the picture of him on the bus!! Cute room too!

    I’m glad it went well! I’ll be going through this next year….sniff….

  5. Shay August 27, 2008 at 11:43 pm #

    I am a big fan of bins like that – I love being able to throw everything in when you need to clean in a hurry. The room looks great! I like the bunk beds and it does look like it makes a lot of room in there.

    P.S. Where did you get your Twitter widget?

  6. dmwright August 28, 2008 at 9:25 am #

    Heather – Thanks! And enjoy this year before school starts – they do grow up way too fast!!

    Shay – I love the bins, too and now the boys love playing in there with the extra room. I got the Twitter widget from another twitterer. She just emailed me this code and I copied and pasted.

  7. kirsty815 August 28, 2008 at 9:25 am #

    Glad he did good on the bus! The room looks really cute! I’m always trying to rearrange Meggers room, to accomodate Meggers growing toy collection..lol

    Kirst

  8. Sprite's Keeper August 28, 2008 at 3:30 pm #

    I love these back to school posts!
    And the clean up on the room and organization looks great!

  9. Aimee September 3, 2008 at 4:22 pm #

    I just can’t get over all this conversation about the bins… this is too funny… funnier than you taking a picture of that little girl on the bus when Big A isn’t even paying attention to you… haha. When you can have full blown conversations about bins on a “post” (thank you for clearing that up for me by the way, i said ai was a virgin damn it!), you know you’re all moms and concerned about some of the silliest things… and just so no one is offended… I love bins. And I am somewhat Anal and sort them by who’s toys are whos and cars go with cars and so on and so forth… which obviously doesn’t stay… i just find the topic amusing is all…

Leave a Reply

