To My Little-Big Guy:

21 Aug

To my precious boy –

Tomorrow you start Kindergarten – I cannot believe how the time has flown! You are getting so big and tall and old! 😦

I remember the first time I laid eyes on your little face how madly in love I fell with you. You had thick brown hair that later looked like a comb over, little blue eyes like your daddy and round cheeks like your mama. I didn’t ever want to put you down! I wanted to hold you all day and not share you with anyone. I was so afraid to leave you alone for one minute.

You were the second love of my life, but definitely the cuter of the two!

I remember when you started to crawl and sit up and talk – it was all so adorable and every moment captured on film or video. When you started to say mama it made me the happiest mama in the world. It was as if I didn’t believe I was truly a mama until you called me one.

From the moment you came into this world, I could tell you were very intelligent. You are an old soul. You would (and still do) stare at anyone who was speaking as if you understood every word.

As you got older, we could tell that you would be shy since you tended to not like anyone other than mama, daddy or GG holding you. We knew you were not going to be the type of kid to run off with a stranger because he said he lost his puppy or he had candy or something. That I did not fear for you.

Then you started walking, and running and talking up a storm. You said the cutest things all the time. You were my pride and joy. You still are although you have to share the spotlight now. Speaking of Little A, you are such an amazing big brother to him and he wants to be just like you! (I wish he were a lot more like you, actually! Seriously, what is with the non-stop talking at decibels dangerous to the human ear?)

You guide your brother and protect him and are such a role model to him. Sure there are days when you just have to punch that little trouble maker and get a rise out of him because he took your Transformer, but everyone has those days. Generally you are a very caring and awesome big bro and I hope you continue to be for the rest of your life.

This year has been huge for you! First turning five, losing your first tooth and going to Kindergarten! Today we said good-bye to your Pre-school teacher, Miss Laura and your class. Miss Laura could not stop crying as we left. She loves you so much and she is so proud of the improvements you have made since you started going there. She made me cry as well as she hugged me and whispered things in my ear about how wonderful you are. About how she will miss you and about how she doesn’t cry for all the kids. You are truly special to her.

And you are truly special to me, to your daddy, to GG and the rest of our family and to everyone you meet. I wish for nothing but the best for you, my little-big sweetie, and I hope your first day of Kindergarten will be wonderful and exciting. I hope you make new friends who will be life-long friends and teachers who will guide you and be people that you can look up to, just like Miss Laura.

So get lots of rest, eat a good breakfast, get on that bus with bravery and smile at everyone you meet. Your smile is what worms your way into everyone’s hearts. I love you, Big A, and hope you have a fantastic day!

Love,

Your Mama

8 Responses to “To My Little-Big Guy:”

  1. Wendy August 21, 2008 at 9:47 pm #

    Awww! That was so sweet it brought tears to my eyes! I love the shot of the two of them dressed up in the corner of the couch. I hope he has a great day. Of course we expect tons of pix!

  2. Wendy August 21, 2008 at 10:30 pm #

    Do you Twitter?

  3. HeatherPride August 22, 2008 at 9:37 am #

    Hi! Thanks for your comment on the Short Bus!

    What sweet boys you have! You’re so lucky to have an awesome preschool teacher – I can’t believe she actually cried when your son left her class! That’s so awesome. This year is my son’s last year in pre-school and since he is somewhat of a …. challenge…. I wouldn’t be surprised if the teacher drop-kicked him out of her classroom at the end of the year!

    I hope you have a great school year!!

  4. dmwright August 22, 2008 at 9:43 am #

    Thank you for the comments! It was actually harder yesterday than this morning. He got right on that bus and didn’t look back! I am so proud of him!!

    Wendy – Why, yes, I do twitter 🙂

    Heather – my other son will be the challenge, I am afraid! I already warned the teachers as he will be attending the same preschool that Big A did!!! I hear you with the drop-kick comment!! LOL

  5. kweenmama August 22, 2008 at 11:39 am #

    This was a sweet post. It brought tears to my eyes too. I cried when each of my kids started kindergarten. And I really cried when my son had his kindergarten graduation because he’s my youngest and it is hard to watch the youngest grow up. I keep telling him to stop and he keeps on disobeying me! The nerve!

  6. Sprite's Keeper August 22, 2008 at 11:51 am #

    You have me blubbering on a Friday..
    Very sweet letter and the pictures show what a great big brother he is.
    Love this post!

  7. kirsty815 August 22, 2008 at 12:48 pm #

    Awwwww today was not the day to read this for me..lol Pass the tissue box. What cute kids I love the one of him goofing off and did I say what beautiful big blue eyes he has.

    Great Post
    Kirst

  8. Aimee August 22, 2008 at 5:23 pm #

    Oh geez… such a sap… goodness gracious, its not that big of a deal! Haha Just kidding. Everyone else here says that they cried too… I guess I’m just a hard ass… I didn’t cry like I thought I would when Anthony went to school… still haven’t… I almost could’ve yesterday when he came home from school and then asked if he could go to his friends house to play!!! He kept coming home every 15 minutes to check in. Haha Hard to believe that he is not only in kindergarten, but going to his friend’s house to play?!?!?

Leave a Reply

