Michigan, mud piles & Mario Lopez

11 Aug

This past weekend we took our last weekend “getaway” before school starts. We went to my friend SO’s lake house in Michigan with her family (CK and P) and another couple Jeff and Kris, as well. (So, in case you are counting, that is three couples and three kids.) We have been there a few times now and it is always great fun. We left Thursday afternoon for the five hour journey…

My two girlfriends rode together with my son’s BFF, P.  (Their husbands would drive up together on Friday because they had to work.) On the way, some crazy girl totally hit them. They said they could have sworn she was drunk but it seemed she was just young and stupid. And completely uncaring that she hit another car – one with a child in it. Everyone was all right, but my friend has a nice dent and scratches on her car. Turns out that Michigan is a no fault state so the young and stupid girl does not have to pay for anything except her own mangled car. Thankfully she had to be towed away. But now Kris is stuck paying a $5,000 deductible.

Note: do not ever get into a car accident in Michigan.

On to the lake house. Beautiful weather! Friday was wonderful. The boys went swimming and played in the dirt and the wood chips and the rocks.

They brought lake water in buckets over to the wood chips and made some really yucky mud. It was funny watching Little A bring water. He started out with a bucket but ended up spilling half of it on the way over to the mud pile. Just like a Little Rascals episode.

We three ladies sat on the deck and soaked in the sunshine. My hubby fished off the pier. Sometimes with help.

It was very relaxing. The only time I had heart palpitations was whenever Little A went near the water. His head is so big for his tiny body that whenever he bends over, he oftentimes falls on it. This happened last time over the fourth of July. He fell right in the lake as he bent over to reach for some seaweed. This weekend, however, no one fell in. But I am sure if my sister was with, she might have took a tumble

The other guys came in on Friday night just in time for dinner. Before they arrived, we treated ourselves to a pedicure at a nearby salon. And while I was there, I looked at an issue of People magazine that had a wonderful layout of Mario Lopez.

Truly wonderful. You must check it out.

Seriously. Go to the nearest store and purchase your copy now.

Saturday some of us rode the jet ski and we took the boat out. And we showed off our pedicures.

The only brave soul to jump in the water was my friend’s husband, CK.

The weekend was ridiculously chilly for August. But also just perfect. We came home and relaxed some more on the deck.

It was so stressful lying there in the sun.

Then the wind started to pick up and we managed to get everything inside and the boat and jet ski covered before a thunderstorm hit. The sun never really came out again so we had dinner and watched the movie Stardust. I highly recommend it. It was very cute.

Then we had cake and celebrated my and the other two husband’s birthdays. For some reason, we never go out for my birthday or Jeff’s. And Jeff and Kris never make it out for CK’s birthday. But we have a yearly celebration at Pepe’s for SO and Kris’ and always go out for hubby’s birthday – on December 23rd no less!

Hence the celebration. Delicious cake.

Sunday – very cold. What in the world was happening up in Michigan center? So we cleaned and packed up and ate lunch and left. For the five hour journey home… Why are they always so angelic when they are sleeping? It was a blissful half hour.

A lovely weekend, I must say. Then, back to mounds of laundry and work today 😦

7 Responses to “Michigan, mud piles & Mario Lopez”

  1. kweenmama August 11, 2008 at 11:41 pm #

    The lake house sounds wonderful! Sometimes those weekend getaways are just what we need. I know I love to go to my parents’ cabin as often as I can. It is so beautiful and peaceful there. Glad you had a good time.

  2. Jan August 12, 2008 at 1:30 pm #

    Sounds like a great time, the pictures are really cute especialy the pedicures. Remember we did that the day before your wedding plus Glamor Shots. Mario has really made a name and a body for himself tlak about washboards in my day they were made out of wood and metal, vastly improved.

  3. Shay August 12, 2008 at 2:40 pm #

    Aww, how fun! That sounds like a great outing! I love family getaways. We are planning on going to our Family Reunion this September and go camping.

    WOOO Mario!

  4. Sprite's Keeper August 12, 2008 at 8:45 pm #

    Hi there! Thanks for stopping by! Finally another site with poems! Your “little girl” poem reminds me of one I wrote some months ago with the same title and it’s very cute! (Yours, not mine. I’m here to compliment you, not me.)
    Yes, car accidents do stink. I work in claims so I see the aftermath of these things a lot, so luckily your friend and her child are okay. (Makes you wish they gave IQ tests before handing out licenses, right?)

  5. sammanthia August 13, 2008 at 9:16 am #

    No way, I used to live in MI! We lived in Zeeland (between Grand Rapids and Holland) until we moved to KY a couple years ago. We still go back a few times a year… I miss it.
    It’s a joke in MI that the state is responsible for 95% of a ll car accidents in the US… we’re crappy drivers.
    Sounds like you had a good time!

  6. kirsty815 August 13, 2008 at 2:26 pm #

    Glad the vacation went well! I love the pics. Did you ever figure out what was going on with the hives?

    Kirst

    PS Florida’s a no fault state too.

  7. dmwright August 13, 2008 at 6:14 pm #

    Thanks, ladies! It was a great time – tons of fun.

    Sprite’s Keeper – I agree! IQ tests should be given before operating and heavy machinery! What an idiot!

    Sammanthia – MI is beautiful! It was such wonderful weather there. Maybe because of the lake but it seems less humid.

    Kirst – I think it was those Kleenex wipes that caused the hives. Once I stopped using those I was fine. Other than that – I have no idea!! Thanks for the tip about FL! I never knew that and I lived there for a year and a half. Good think I never got into an accident!

Leave a Reply

