What is wrong with me?!

7 Aug

I have no idea what has caused this catastrophe! On Monday after a work out and lunch, I am sitting at my desk, itching like crazy! My underarms, my neck, my ears – itchy, scratch, itchy. I went to the bathroom to see if there were bug bites, little people with feathers, anything, but no. After complaining to my friend and concentrating on work, it subsided and eventually went away.

Then I got home and started itching again. I suddenly felt like I had to rip off my clothes or I would go mad! I did, and found that I had broken out in hives ALL OVER my body from my neck to my knees.

ALL OVER. I am not kidding.

Especially where skin touches skin. EVERY CRACK. Yeah, ew.

If you have never had hives, it’s a pretty nasty rash that itches like the devil, obviously. Mine looks like a million mosquito bites.

W…T…F? I have no idea where they came from. I think that maybe I brushed by/stood in something at the Renaissance Faire on Sunday. But that would have hit me earlier then Monday afternoon, right?

I can’t stand it – I try to read blogs to keep my mind off it. My palms are even itching at this point. Maybe worse than everywhere else. I wait for hubby to come home with the magic drug that will make it all end: Benadryl. It takes awhile to kick in and hubby makes dinner. It was really good, but I started to fall asleep at the table. The magic drug will do that to you.

I go to bed and the relentless itching ends. Until 10:30. Then it starts up again and I take more heavenly helper. Then I am fine.

Tuesday. I am constantly thinking of what could have caused my weird break out in hives. I discuss with co-workers – to their annoyment – and feel like I am on an episode of House. I think, well, maybe it is these Kleenex wet wipes I used after working out that my friend gave me. Then I sprayed deodorant. Maybe it is the combination of wipes and deodorant ingredients that are not working well together. I have used the wipes once before (I think) and have definitely used the deodorant.

I do know one thing. It’s not Lupus.

I work out, use the wipes only, eat lunch and continue through my day. I get home. I change my clothes. I start to itch. I tear off my clothes again and darned if they are not back. I take some more Benadryl. At this point I am thinking that it is the wipes. But I was fine until I got home and changed. I thought about the clothes I changed into. They were washed in a new laundry detergent. Maybe it is this detergent. Nothing I wore the day before, however, was washed in the detergent. Back to the wipes. After awhile the hives go away.

Wednesday/Today. I am so not using those wipes. The more I think about it, the more I am convinced its the wipes. For starters, everywhere I had the worst hives is somewhere I used the wipes. And especially the palms of my hands. I used my hands to use the wipes. It all fit together perfectly.

I work out, eat lunch and go through my day. Around four pm my right palm starts to itch. But nothing else. Now, as I type this, my left palm itches but my right no longer does. But I have no other places with hives or that itch. Could it be just leftover hives after the Benadryl finally took its course through my system? I don’t know.

I do know one thing.

You are itching right now, aren’t you?

5 Responses to “What is wrong with me?!”

  1. kirsty815 August 6, 2008 at 7:56 pm #

    I’m definitely iching right now..lol Awww sounds horrible. My mum had a really bad hive reaction that went into anaphylactic (I can’t spell) shock never found out what caused it but she carries an epi pen with her now in her purse. Could it possibly be something you ate that’s new?
    The doctor told my mum that sometimes as your body changes you can develop allergies to things you weren’t allergic to before (peanuts, shellfish, dairy, etc).

    I know in kids sometimes it can take a few days for the hives to go, Meggers had a bad reaction to Tryleptol (a seizure med they wanted to put her on) hives lasted almost a week we had to do benadryl every 4-6 hours. I hope you figure out what it was.

    Kirst

  2. dmwright August 6, 2008 at 8:48 pm #

    OMG, I feel like my left hand is on fire. I don’t think I ate anything different – I am pretty sure I didn’t. Since we started that work diet, I have been writing down everything. Hubby says the stress of having two boys is finally getting to me – lol! We’ll see – off to get more drugs!!

  3. Shay August 6, 2008 at 10:53 pm #

    I am definitely itching now! haha. I hope you figure out what definitely caused it.

    I also really chuckled at the “little people with feathers” part.

  4. kweenmama August 9, 2008 at 10:05 am #

    Wow, that ‘s weird. Hope you find out what it is. Itching can be torture!

  5. Wendy August 21, 2008 at 10:50 pm #

    So are you still itching? Did you use the wipes again?

    And yes, I’m itching all over now. Thanks a lot! 😉

Leave a Reply

