Pay it Forward – Recap

1 Aug

Today I had my opportunity to do this. I ran through the McDonald’s for an egg sandwich and a sausage McGriddle for Big A. He loves those. I thought I had a $20 on me, but only had $9. When I got to the window, I asked how much the man behind me owed. The lady seemed kind of flustered and not quite sure what to do. Then she put her hand to her chest and then grinned and said, “Um, he just got a large coffee. He owes $1.43” (or something, I can’t remember). I said I would like to pay for him and she did both our transactions and I drove up to the second window to get our food.

The food was already ready and I grabbed it and drove away. I did glance in the mirror and saw that the man sat at the first window for awhile before pulling to the second for his coffee. I can only hope that maybe he paid for the person behind him as well. Then I started to worry that the woman would have a hard day trying to figure out orders if that kept on for awhile. But I know that she was at least surprised by my actions if no one else was.

4 Responses to “Pay it Forward – Recap”

  1. kirsty815 August 1, 2008 at 5:28 pm #

    That was a super nice thing to do and I bet it shocked the man in the car behind you. He’s gonna be wondering if he knew your for days..lol

  2. Olivia August 4, 2008 at 9:29 am #

    THat’s awesome!

  3. Jan August 4, 2008 at 11:00 am #

    Great Reaction, I hope the guy only thinks you were paying it forward. Joyce Meyer says she tries to pay for lunches and dinners or gives away clothes she really wants, once it was a fur coat that she wanted and another lady got it.The Palatine township on Quentin across from Fremd High school is probably looking for school supplies, kids clothes and food for their pantry if anyone wants to give things away, you know you will never know who it’s for and you won’y get any thanks but that’s what it is all about.

  4. Shay August 6, 2008 at 10:56 pm #

    That is an awesome thing to do. I need to do more things like that! It’s fun to surprise people.

Leave a Reply

