Parents

7 May

PARENTS

WHY ARE THEY HERE?

WHAT GOOD ARE THEY?

WHAT IS THEIR PURPOSE?

WHY MUST THEY…

CONSTANTLY TELL ME WHAT TO DO?

TELL ME TO BE HOME BY TEN?

NAG AT EVERYTHING I SAY?

GIVE ME DIRTY LOOKS AND THEN…

GROUND ME WHEN I COME HOME LATE,

GROUND ME WHEN I GET BAD GRADES,

GROUND ME WHEN I CRASH THE CAR,

GROUND ME TIL THEIR MEMORY FADES!

WHY ARE THEY HERE?

WHAT GOOD ARE THEY?

WHAT IS THEIR PURPOSE?

WHY MUST THEY…

“STOP!” A VOICE INTERRUPTS.

I TURN AROUND AND SEE

THAT THERE IS NO ONE THERE,

BUT SOMEONE IS SPEAKING TO ME.

“DO NOT QUESTION MY DECISION

I HAVE PUT THEM IN THEIR PLACE.

MOTHER, FATHER – THEY’RE YOUR PARENTS

AND IT IS ONLY BY MY GRACE

THAT YOU HAVE THE ONES YOU DO.

TO KEEP YOU IN GOOD HEALTH

AND GUIDE YOU DOWN THE PATH

OF PROSPERITY AND WEALTH.

TO TEACH YOU DISCIPLINE

AND TO BE STONG IN THE POWER OF MY MIGHT.

TO HELP YOU GROW IN FAITH

AND TO FIGHT THE GOOD FIGHT.

MOTHER, FATHER – HONOR THEM

DO THIS, AND OBEY

EVERYTHING THAT THEY TELL YOU

FOR THIS IS THE RIGHT WAY.

IT IS WELL PLEASING TO ME.

THIS IS MY COMMAND.

ABIDE BY THIS WORD OF MINE

AND LAY YOUR LIFE IN MY HANDS.”

I LOWERED MY HEAD IN SHAME –

FOR THE THOUGHTS THAT I HAVE HAD.

MOTHER, FATHER – THEY’RE MY PARENTS –

THIS IS NOT SO BAD.

THEY ARE HERE FOR GOD,

AND FOR ME AND MY OWN GOOD.

TO HELP MY WITH MY PURPOSE

THEY MUST BE UNDERSTOOD

BY ME, SO I CAN BE

STRONG IN THE POWER OF GOD’S MIGHT

AND GROW IN FAITH SO I

CAN FIGHT THE GOOD FIGHT.

I LOOK UP TO HEAVEN

WITH A SMILE ON MY FACE.

THANK YOU, GOD, FOR SHOWING ME –

THANK YOU FOR YOUR GRACE.

MOTHER, FATHER – THESE MY PARENTS –

I WILL HONOR THEM,

OBEY EVERYTHING THEY SAY,

AND ABIDE BY YOUR COMMAND.

BY D.M. WRIGHT

One Response to “Parents”

  1. TaskForce May 23, 2008 at 11:38 pm #

    I wish alot of people would look at this poem and follow this words,I for one try to follow these guidelines to the best of my ability. Great Work on this and all your poems

Leave a Reply

