Little A

6 Apr

I have two sons. Big A and Little A. They are almost 5 and 2.5. They really love each other and are mostly good friends. Today they had a great time playing and made a gigantic mess. When told to clean up, they whine, “I can’t do it. It’s too much! Mama help!” Big A did most of the whining and crying and temper tantrums while Little A just picks up a toy here and there and sings, “Clean up, clean up. Everybody everywhere, clean up!” Big A knows that the bulk of the cleaning will be from himself. They have a stand with about 12 or so colorful bins. Each bin has its own kind of toy: cars, trains, train tracks, Legos, action figures, miscellaneous, etc. Big A knows that each bin should hold its own toy. So, hours later, the room is finally clean and Big A is so proud because he did it mostly by himself. As a reward he got to go grocery shopping with Daddy. The same reward is for Daddy for coming home from work too late 😉

So, Little A is supposed to be napping. I am working on laundry and bills, etc and have this pain in my back from stretching too far during pilates this morning, no doubt. So I am trying to take it easy. I am in the kitchen getting some water when I hear a gi-normous crash. I sigh and go into the boys room and see whats up. Little A has knocked over the whole toy bin and with it, obviously, all the toys that Big A worked so hard to clean up. I guilt Little A, telling him how upset his brother is going to be, how much work it is going to be to clean that up after his nap. I tell him that he is going to work all night on it as well and righted the stand and then of course, I had to take a picture. I email it to my husband’s blackberry to prove who got the better child today.

The mess

Poor Little A. He is not happy.

2 Responses to “Little A”

  1. Jan April 11, 2008 at 9:18 am #

    Little A was looking at this mess and he says he won’t do it anymore. He was thinking that the little boy in the bed was someone else. He send his love to you,Mom

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I only cried a yittle bit… « D.M. Wright Books - August 26, 2008

    […] might remember this mess from this post. But you can see the idea with the two beds and the too many toys and the not enough […]

Leave a Reply

